51 Buckingham Gate

Summary

Guided tour

Location

Services & Prices

Discreet and spacious with irreproachable service

When he built the group of high town houses which form St James Court at the turn of the century, Major Charles Pawley was looking to offer “the establishment” frequenting the nearby corridors of power a discreet, comfortable place for its members to meet.

51 Buckingham Gate, owned by the Indian Taj group since 1981, occupies half of St James Court. It was completely refurbished in 2000, a joint project for designers Noel Pearce and Dan Nelson, taking on a contemporary style whilst preserving its natural discretion.

A mark of its exclusivity, the hotel has no rooms but comprises over 80 suites and apartments, ranging from around forty square metres to the Prime Minister’s Suite which measures over 300. In addition to its spa, gym and several restaurants, the service diligently orchestrated by butlers and concierges, attentive to the very last detail, set it apart from other hotels, as is borne out by the many awards it wins each year.

The clientele

The hotel is a popular with famous names from politics and showbiz who appreciate its discretion. The establishment and its services also attract many families, Indian in particular but also from the Middle East or the US, but it will appeal to anyone who loves peace and quiet, comfort and independence, especially for a lengthy stay in London.

Starting at 439€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 10 Rating : 10
Room amenities 9 Rating : 9
Breakfast 8 Rating : 8
Property amenities 9 Rating : 9
Global Rating 9 Global Rating : 9

Contacts & booking

51 Buckingham Gate

51 Buckingham Gate

Metro station : St James's Park

51 Buckingham Gate

En résumé

Visite guidée

Emplacement

Prestations

Discret, spacieux et doté d’un service irréprochable

En construisant au début du siècle cet ensemble de hautes demeures qui forment le St James Court, leur propriétaire, le Major Charles Pawley, avait dès l’origine souhaité offrir à « l’establishment », fréquentant les toutes proches allées du pouvoir, un lieu discret où ses membres pourraient se réunir confortablement.

Propriété du groupe indien Taj depuis 1981, le 51 Buckingham Gate occupe la moitié du St James Court. Il a conservé sa discrétion naturelle, tout en adoptant un style contemporain grâce à une rénovation complète. Cette rénovation a été opérée en 2000, et réalisée suivant les plans des décorateurs Noel Pearce pour une partie, et Dan Nelson pour une autre partie.

Signe de distinction, l’hôtel ne possède pas de chambres mais plus de 80 suites et appartements, allant d’une quarantaine de mètres carrés, à plus de trois cents pour la Prime Minister’s Suite. En plus d’un spa, d’une salle de sports et de plusieurs restaurants, l’hôtel se distingue par un service orchestré avec diligence par des majordomes et concierges soucieux du moindre détail, comme l’attestent les nombreuses distinctions remportées chaque année par l’hôtel.

Pour qui ?

L’hôtel attire des personnalités de la politique et du show-business qui en apprécient la discrétion. Beaucoup de familles, notamment indiennes, du Moyen-Orient ou américaines, en apprécient également l’espace et les services. Il ravira enfin tous les amateurs de tranquillité, de confort et d’indépendance, surtout pour un long séjour à Londres.

À partir de 439€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 10 Confort : 10
Confort Chambres 9 Confort : 9
Petit-Déjeuner 8 Confort : 8
Infrastructure & Services 9 Confort : 9
Confort Global 9 Confort Global : 9

Contacts & Réservation

51 Buckingham Gate

51 Buckingham Gate

Station de Métro : St James's Park