Abitart Hotel

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Manhattan transfer

With its facade both straight and curved rising over a large busy avenue and between high buildings, the Abitart Hotel offers you an image of Rome which is rarely seen: that of an energetic and upright city.

Built in 2003, the hotel was thought up by Ciro and Luisa Smiraglia. He's the businessman and she is the architect, and together they wanted to create a Rome hotel that was original, surprising, playful and creative, in other words, an avant-garde hotel which gave the city something a bit more modern.

They succeeded, with the help of several architects and artists, such as Alfredo Benedetti and Fabienne Festagallo.

The tone of the hotel is clear as soon as you arrive.

Standing independently of neighbouring buildings, the Abitart emerges clearly from its urban surroundings with its style inspired by American buildings, an open space for the access ramp into the car park and an entrance at the corner of the building, between red metallic pillars, on and around which are hidden white figures, winking sculptures, which divert your attention in an amusing way from the daily life of this area: the overall effect is energetic and quirky.

Inside you will find the same surprise, a large and open space, large windows looking out and a reception counter that looks like a wave of metal. The lampshades are like shields of light and the sofas, made by Etra or Moroso, look like shells in green or un-dyed leather. The interior is punctuated with works of art - temporary art exhibitions also come to stay here.

From behind the reception you have access to Estrobar and to the other floors.

On each floor the large corridors are a different colour, each painted in one block colour with pretty trimmings in blonde wood.

Now let's look at the smaller details.

The rooms are quite similar; the colour of the walls matching that of the corridor, and with the same wood trimmings, but all of the suites and junior suites are different and embody the creativity of the hotel.

They are classed by theme, amongst which there is the Cubist theme - with one part of the wall decorated with an extract from Picasso's Guernica, the photographic theme - with mosaics of very Italian photos from the 60s, the metaphysical theme - with walls painted like the sky, sky blue and with clouds and reproductions of De Chirico, the Pop-Art theme - with enormous reproductions of Keith Haring on the headboard.

The Neo-classical suite is without a doubt the most astonishing, with its empire colours, green and white, the velvet and the padded headboard.

The suites on the top floors could benefit from small balconies and the suite on the very top floor has a certain Russian ambiance, at once minimalist, urban and luminous. The rooms and suites are spacious enough, but you will find them more compact than the ones in more luxurious establishments.

The bathrooms also have a designer look to them and many of them have mosaic tiles.

Overall it is well done and atypical, with all the charm and drawbacks that this can bring.

Breakfast is served on an agreeable covered terrace, found on the first floor.

As for the restaurant, it is situated on the ground floor and is spacious with an outside terrace. The Estrobar restaurant is a contemporary place which mixes art and cuisine with energy and has a pleasant ambiance which attracts Romans as well as hotel guests.

Smaller and more energetic than the big hotels Es Radisson or Ripa, it is closer in spirit to an Art hotel, although it is slightly less so with regards to service, yet also a cut above with regards to the coolness of the rooms.

Just five minutes' walk from the metro station Ostiense-Piramide, the Abitart Hotel is near enough to the tourist centre of the city, whilst at the same time you do not feel like you're staying in a postcard picture.

It allows you to discover another side of Rome, that of a popular and vibrant city, young and constantly moving, just like the neighbouring areas of Testaccio and Garbatella.

 

Starting at 120€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 7.5 Global Rating : 7.5

Contacts & booking

Abitart Hotel

Via Pellegrino Matteucci, 10/20
00154

Abitart Hotel

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Manhattan transfer

Elévant sa façade rectiligne et crénelée au dessus d'une large avenue passante et entre de hauts immeubles, l'Abitart Hotel nous donne une vision de Rome à laquelle on est assez peu habitué : celle d'une ville énergique et verticale.

Construit en 2003, l'hôtel a été imaginé par Ciro et Luisa Smiraglia. Lui est homme d'affaires, elle architecte, et ensemble, ils ont souhaité créer à Rome un hôtel original, étonnant, ludique, créatif, bref un hôtel d'avant-guarde qui donne à la ville ses lettres de modernité.

Pari réussi, avec l'aide de plusieurs architectes et artistes, comme Alfredo Benedetti ou Fabienne Festagallo. 

Le ton est donné dès l'arrivée à l'hôtel.

Indépendant des immeubles voisins, l'Abitart ressort très nettement de son cadre urbain, avec une allure inspirée des "building américains", un espace ouvert pour sa rampe d'accès au parking et une entrée à l'angle de l'immeuble, entre des pilliers métalliques rouges, sur et autour desquels se cachent des personnages en blanc, sculptures-clin d'oeil détournant de façon amusante le quotidien du quartier : énergique et décalé. 

A l'intérieur même surprise, un espace large et ouvert, vitré, donnant sur l'extérieur, avec un comtoir de réception comme une vague métallique. Les lustres sont comme des boucliers de lumière et les canapés, signés Etra ou Moroso, comme des coquillages verts ou écru-cuir, ponctuent un intérieur que des œuvres d'art - expositions temporaires viennent également habiter.

Derrière, on accède à l'Estrobar et aux étages.

A chaque étage, de larges couloirs d'une couleur à chaque fois différente, une couleur pleine et entière, et avec de jolis habillages en bois blond. 

Ensuite, commence le particulier.

Si les chambres sont assez similaires : murs de la couleur de l'étage et habillage bois, toutes les suites et juniors suites sont différentes et incarnent toute la créativité de l'hôtel.

Elles sont classées par thèmes, parmi lesquels le thème Cubiste - avec un pan de mur décoré par un extrait du Guernica de Picasso, le thème Fotografica - avec ses mosaïques de portraits très Italie des années 60, le thème Métaphysique - avec ses murs façon ciel bleu et nuage et ses reproduction de De Chirico, le thème Pop-Art - avec ses énormes reproduction de Keith Haring en tête de lit.

La suite Néo-Classique est sans doute la plus inattendue, avec ses couleurs empire, vert et blanc, ses velours et sa tête de lit capitonnée.

Les suites des derniers étages peuvent bénéficier de petits balcons et la suite du dernier étage, possède une ambiance très réussie, à la fois minimaliste, urbaine et lumineuse. Correctement spacieuses, les chambres et les suites seront cependant plus compactes que dans des établissement plus luxueux.

Les salles de bains sont également design et jouent souvent la carte des carreaux mosaïques.  

L'ensemble est bien fait et atypique, avec tout le charme et les inconvénients que cela peut avoir. 

Le petit déjeuner est servi sur une agréable terrasse couverte, située au premier étage.

Situé quant à lui au rez-de- chaussée, avec plusieurs espaces et une terrasse extérieure, le restaurant Estrobar est un lieu contemporain mélant art et cuisine avec énergie et sur un ton sympathique qui attire aussi bien les romains que les clients de l'hôtel.

Plus petit et plus pétillant que les grands hôtels ES Radisson ou Ripa, il se rapproche d'avantage de l'esprit d'un hôtel Art, bien qu'un ton en dessous en matière de service, et un ton au dessus en matière de fraîcheur des chambres. 

Situé à cinq bonnes minutes de marche de la station de métro Ostiense-Piramide, l'hôtel Abitart est à la fois assez proche du coeur touristique de la ville tout en étant dans un environnement moins carte postale.

Il permet cependant de découvrir un autre visage de Rome, celui d'une ville populaire et vivante, jeune et en mouvement, comme le prouve les quartiers voisins de Testaccio et de Garbatella.

 

À partir de 120€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 7.5 Confort Global : 7.5

Contacts & Réservation

Abitart Hotel

Via Pellegrino Matteucci, 10/20
00154