As Janelas Verdes

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Lisbon Through a Telescope

A family residence converted into an alluring hotel, the As Janelas Verdes is like a tiny music box that opens up to disclose its secrets little by little.

At first sight, its location excites curiosity.  Although located along a busy street and near the famous National Museum of Art, the establishment is at the halfway point between the historical and touristy neighborhood of Belem and the heart of the city.

Attracted by that straddling act, King Dom Manuel built his palace there in the XVIth century, and was followed by a number of aristocrats.  After a period of neglect, the street with the "green windows" - janelas verdes - became famous again thanks to a group of writers.  The most famous among them, Eça de Queirós, even lived in the former residence of the Counts of Sabugosa that the hotel occupies today.

Inspired by that tradition, the interior decorator, Graça Viterbo and the family hotelier group, Héritage, were able to recreate the atmosphere of a private home.

Opened in 2002, the establishment touches softly on the plush with books, piano, carpet and fireplace, as well as the heavy curtains through which a sage, powdered light filters through.

The 29 hotel rooms are traditional and elegant.  Equipped with solid wooden furniture and embroidered linens, they create a very particular mood, as if outside of both the city and time.  Rooms toward the back are both calmer and benefit from better views.

The source of much charm is the back courtyard decorated with ivy, a library with rich wooden panels and a magnificent terrace overlooking the Tagus River.  The cranes on the docks cover up the perhaps more superficial side of the annexed building.  Warm service with a smile.

 

The clientele

The As Janelas Verdes attracts a clientele of all ages, but generally one with a rather traditional profile.  It is ideal for any who wish to discover Lisbon from a welcoming, charming hotel that isn't necessary central but that has the advantage of being in a pleasant environment, one that moves along with the mild city rhythm by day night and vibrates with the hip and trendy clubs on weekend nights.

 

Starting at 165€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 7 Rating : 7
Room amenities 8 Rating : 8
Breakfast 8 Rating : 8
Property amenities 8 Rating : 8
Global Rating 8 Global Rating : 8

Contacts & booking

As Janelas Verdes

R. Janelas Verdes, 47
1200-690

As Janelas Verdes

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Lisbonne à la longue vue

Demeure de famille reconvertie en hôtel de charme, le As Janelas Verdes est comme une petite boîte à musique qui livre peu à peu ses secrets.

A première vue, son emplacement suscite la curiosité. Situé le long d'une rue passante et bien qu'à proximité du célèbre Musée d'Art National, l'établissement se trouve à mi-chemin entre le quartier historico-touristique de Belem et le cœur de la ville.  

Attiré par cet entre-deux, le roi Dom Manuel y installe son palais au XVIè siècle, suivi alors par de nombreux aristocrates. Après une période d'oubli, la rue aux « fenêtres vertes » - janelas verdes - redevient célèbre au XIXème siècle grâce à un groupe d'écrivains. Le plus fameux d'entre eux, Eça de Queirós, aurait même vécu dans l'ancienne demeure des Comtes de Sabugosa que l'hôtel occupe aujourd'hui.

Inspiré par cette tradition, la décoratrice Graça Viterbo et le groupe hôtelier familial Héritage ont su parfaitement recréer l'atmosphère d'une maison particulière.

Ouvert en 2002, l'établissement égrène avec douceur un univers cossu, fait de livres, piano, tapis et cheminée de salon, ainsi que de lourds rideaux d'où filtre une lumière sage et poudrée.

Les 29 chambres de l'hôtel sont classiques et élégantes. Dotées d'un solide mobilier de bois et de linges brodés, elles dégagent une atmosphère bien particulière, comme en dehors de la ville et du temps. Celles donnant sur l'arrière sont à la fois plus calmes et profitent d'une meilleure vue.

Donnant tout son charme à l'hôtel, une arrière cour tapissée de lierre, une bibliothèque aux riches panneaux de bois et sa magnifique terrasse, ouverte sur le Tage et les grues des docks, effacent le côté peut-être plus superficiel de l'annexe. Service souriant et chaleureux.  

Pour qui ?

Attirant une clientèle de tous âges mais d'un profil plutôt classique, l'hôtel As Janelas Verdes est idéal pour tous ceux qui souhaitent découvrir Lisbonne depuis un hôtel chaleureux et plein de charme, pas forcément placé en son centre mais profitant d'un quartier agréable, vivant au doux rythme de la ville le jour et vibrant de ses clubs branchés, les nuits de fin de semaine.

À partir de 165€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 7 Confort : 7
Confort Chambres 8 Confort : 8
Petit-Déjeuner 8 Confort : 8
Infrastructure & Services 8 Confort : 8
Confort Global 8 Confort Global : 8

Contacts & Réservation

As Janelas Verdes

R. Janelas Verdes, 47
1200-690