Bairro Alto

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

The Lyrebird

The icon of an era, the Grand Hotel Europe has long presided over the fates of the Bairro Alto.  The only prestigious hotel in this diverse, artists' neighbourhood perched atop a hill filled with theatres and cafes, the establishment has welcomed writers, actors and singers and its bar has gathered many a tertulia: literary, political or philosophical discussion groups.

Abandoned after the Revolução dos Cravos (the Carnation Revolution), and then occupied by a stuffy insurance company, the site was taken over by three partners, citizens of Lisbon at heart, who wanted to give that part of the city a place that would live up to its history and personality.

Created with the assistance of the very international and very talented Grace Leo-Andrieu, brought to fruition thanks to the work of two Portuguese interior decorators, José Pedro Lopes Vieira and Diogo Rosa La, and finally opened in 2005 after two years of construction, the Bairro Alto Hotel was designed to evoke the Lisbon of old with sweet nostalgia and to offer simple, welcoming luxury.

Through its restaurant and bar, the Flores and Garrett respectively, and its thick wall-to-wall carpeted corridors, the establishment weaves a web of different moods, at times radiant and fresh, at times somber and sultry.  There is almost always a touch of art, discreet and elegant dashes of it here and there, and its top floor balcony attracts a chic and trendy type of client, both local and international, that is lulled by the view of the hilltops sliding down to the ocean-like Tagus River.

The Bairro Alto's 55 rooms cultivate a retro chic feel with four dusky, luminous colors linked to the city: blue, yellow, red and cream.  Like a Portuguese grandmother, the rooms mix a variety of textile patterns, high ceilings and traditional-style bathrooms, where leather and wood parquet add a touch of glamour.  In addition to this sweet and charming atmosphere, the quality of the materials and the details in particular make these rooms very endearing.

In homage to the songs of the thousands of birds that brighten the city's more diverse neighborhoods, the walls of the rooms are home to discreet paintings that provide an elegant reminder to clients that the soul of Lisbon is fed by the poetry of their quills.  Attentive and reliable service.

 

The clientele

Elegant and modern, tied to history and unassuming, the hotel is ideal for those wishing to discover Lisbon with the help of a place rooted in the city with international-standard comforts.  They also attract a young, informal clientele of artists and fashionistas as well as more traditional clients.

 

Starting at 230€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 9 Rating : 9
Room amenities 10 Rating : 10
Breakfast 9 Rating : 9
Property amenities 9 Rating : 9
Global Rating 9 Global Rating : 9

Contacts & booking

Bairro Alto

Praça Luis de Camoes, 2
1200-243

Bairro Alto

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

L'oiseau lyre

Icône d'une époque, le Grand Hotel de l'Europe a longtemps présidé aux destinées du Bairro Alto. Seul hôtel de standing de ce quartier mi-populaire mi-artiste, perché sur une colline peuplée de théâtres et de cafés, l'établissement a reçu écrivains, acteurs ou chanteurs et a accueilli en son bar de récurrentes tertulias, ces cercles de discussions littéraires, politiques ou philosophiques.

Abandonné après la révolution des œillets, occupée ensuite par une poussiéreuse société d'assurance, l'emplacement a été repris par trois associés, lisboètes dans l'âme, qui ont souhaité redonner à cette partie de la ville un lieu à la hauteur de son histoire et de sa personnalité.

Créé avec le concours de la très internationale et talentueuse Grace Leo-Andrieu, réalisé également grâce au travail de deux décorateurs d'intérieur portugais, José Pedro Lopes Vieira et Diogo Rosa La, ouvert en 2005 après deux ans de travaux, l'Hôtel Bairro Alto a été dessiné pour évoquer la Lisbonne d'antan, avec une douce nostalgie, et en offrant un luxe fait de simplicité et de chaleur.

Au fil de son restaurant Flores ou de son bar Garrett, le long de ses couloirs aux moquettes épaisses, l'établissement tisse des ambiances différentes, tantôt lumineuses et fraîches, tantôt sombres et sensuelles. L'art y est toujours présent, par touches discrètes et élégantes, et sa terrasse du dernier étage, attire une clientèle chic et branchée, aussi bien locale qu'internationale, se laissant bercer par la vue de cette colline dont les toits dévalent jusqu'à un Tage large comme une mer.

Déclinant quatre couleurs mates et lumineuses liées aux couleurs de la ville - bleu, jaune, rouge et crème - les 55 chambres du Bairro Alto cultivent une ambiance rétro chic. Comme chez une grand-mère lisboète, elles croisent lambris et canetage, hauteur sous plafond et salle de bains à l'ancienne, auxquelles cuir et parquet en bois exotique apportent une touche glamour. En plus de cette atmosphère douce et charmeuse, la qualité des matériaux et des détails rend ces chambres très attachantes.  

Hommage aux mille oiseaux dont les sifflements égayent les quartiers populaires de la ville, on retrouve sur les murs des chambres de discrètes peintures qui viennent rappeler avec élégance que l'âme de Lisbonne est nourrie à la poésie de ses plumes. Service attentif et sérieux.

 

Pour qui ?

Elégant et moderne, attaché à l'histoire et discret, l'hôtel est idéal pour tous ceux qui souhaitent découvrir Lisbonne grâce à un lieu enraciné dans la ville et d'un niveau de confort international. Il attire aussi bien une clientèle jeune et informelle, d'artistes ou de gens de la mode, qu'une clientèle plus classique.

 

À partir de 230€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 9 Confort : 9
Confort Chambres 10 Confort : 10
Petit-Déjeuner 9 Confort : 9
Infrastructure & Services 9 Confort : 9
Confort Global 9 Confort Global : 9

Contacts & Réservation

Bairro Alto

Praça Luis de Camoes, 2
1200-243