Casa Montani

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Chic & Charming above the Piazza del Popolo

Sometimes life is surprising.

Whatever possessed Giuseppe Montani, a graduate of economics from the University of Rome, and his wife, Charlotte Bontemps, a Frenchwoman who came to Rome to carry out research in Administrative Law, to open a luxury Bed & Breakfast formed from a large apartment, 180m², split into several rooms?

At first glance there appears to be no real reason, it is simply through the chance of inheritance that we are sometimes faced with situations that can become real possibilities.

So what to do with this corner apartment, overlooking the Piazza Flaminio and situated within a very beautiful Liberty building constructed in 1916? Rather than living in it, Charlotte and Giuseppe decided to convert it, which meant, as far as Giuseppe was concerned, leaving the large consultancy firm where he had been working happily for many years before he became a hotel manager.

If the project began in 2005, it has taken almost two years for the establishment to finally open its doors to the public, in November 2007.

Two years of preparation, inspecting other hotels, negotiating to get funding for the project, finding the best suppliers, in short, two years to give form to something that hadn't yet taken form.

The interior design here, are the fruits of labour of the brilliant architect Liliana Sciacca, who was also the creative mind behind the Casa Howard in Rome, is full of charm, confidence and diversity.

Charming because the colour scheme and the arrangement of furniture within the rooms is done in the very best taste: at once sensual but never opulent and always original, but never overdone.

Confidence, because all of the materials used are of the highest quality and being perfectly authentic they create a solid impression.

As for diversity, each of the five rooms has a different theme.

Our young hotel managers did not want to leave anything to chance: from the lighting to the bathroom fixtures, from the tiles to the parquet floors, all of the products are designer and come from the best suppliers. For example, the bathroom products are Hermès and the bed sheets are Frette. And naturally, they called upon only the very best craftsmen in Rome to carry out all of the work.

The result is an incredible meticulousness which generates a profound impression of luxury.

Proving the extent to which the owners wanted to take into account the needs of their guests: the acoustics were an important detail. The cohesion of the interior doors allows each room to become isolated and even eliminates the outside noise of the city.

To access Casa Montani you must enter through number 9 Place Flaminio (the door is left open during the day and accessible by interphone at night), and head towards staircase C where you are hoisted up to the third floor in a charmingly old-fashioned metal cage lift.

The front door of the apartment leads into a small living room which functions as the reception. Furnished with a beautiful wooden bookcase, a fireplace, some pretty armchairs and beautiful black and cream striped fabric, the overall effect of which is superb and makes for a very good beginning to the stay.

A corridor stretching out from the reception leads on to the five rooms.

The establishment offers three deluxe bedrooms (16m²), a Junior Suite (20m²) and a Suite (30m²), all decorated with fabrics by Sicilian painter Beppe Butera.

Overlooking Place Flaminio, the Suite is the nicest room in the apartment, offering views in two directions as this room is situated in the corner of the building.

The Junior Suite is perhaps best suited to a family of three, or for travellers with a lot of luggage. The living area, separated from the bedroom by a screen, is too narrow to be completely comfortable, but on the other hand there is an additional sofa bed (just as there is in the main Suite).

The three normal rooms are rather compact but decorated in different styles: one in a romantic style, with the headboard made from sculpted wood, one is "eco-chic" with the walls painted green, and the third is urban-classic, with everything decorated with large slate-grey stripes.

In the morning, breakfast is served in the room.

Despite the beautiful décor, perhaps even worthy of a palace, the hotel has two small faults: the size of the rooms, where it would be nice to see a size more in-keeping with the level of luxury, and the fact that there are no communal areas or a bar, although it is possible to have a coffee in the reception room.

Situated just two paces from the Piazza del Popolo, and the trendy and touristy bars and restaurants, Casa Montani is on the other side of Rome's ancient wall, next to the tramway and on a busy crossroads, in short, ideally situated for getting around Rome.

 

 

The clientele

With no communal areas or living rooms, and no surplus space or 24 hour room service, it will disappoint anyone looking to relax in a place with a large range of permanently available services.

On the other hand, it would be ideal for a young couple, solo travellers and families looking for an apartment.

Casa Montani is perfect for all those who enjoy an ambiance of intimate-chic and travelling independently whilst receiving a welcome from convivial hosts with a love and knowledge of the city.

 

Starting at 200€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 7 Rating : 7
Room amenities 9 Rating : 9
Property amenities 7 Rating : 7
Global Rating 7 Global Rating : 7

Contacts & booking

Casa Montani

Piazzale Flaminio, 9
Scala C int. 4
00196

Metro station : Flaminio

Casa Montani

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Chic & charme au dessus de la Piazza del Popolo

La vie est parfois étonnante.

Qu'est ce qui prédisposait Giuseppe Montani, diplômé en Economie de l'université de Rome, et sa femme, Charlotte Bontemps, une française venue à Rome pour ses recherches en Droit Administratif, à ouvrir un Bed & Breakfast de luxe et de charme, grand comme un appartement de 180m2, découpé en plusieurs chambres ?

A priori rien, si ce n'est le hasard des héritages qui vous mettent parfois face à des situations qui deviennent des possibilités.

Que faire de cet appartement d'angle, surplombant la Piazza Flaminio et occupant un très bel immeuble Liberty construit en 1916 ? A défaut de l'habiter, Charlotte & Giuseppe ont décidé de le convertir, et donc en ce qui concerne Giuseppe, d'abandonner le grand cabinet de conseil dans lequel il travaillait confortablement depuis de nombreuses années pour devenir hôtelier.

Si le projet est né en 2005, il a fallut près de deux ans avant que l'établissement ouvre ses portes, en novembre 2007.

Deux ans de préparation, de repérage auprès de différents hôtels, de négociation pour obtenir les financements, de comparaison pour trouver les meilleurs fournisseurs, bref, deux ans pour donner une forme à ce qui ni n'en avait pas encore.

Fruit du travail de la brillante architecte Liliana Sciacca, également à l'origine de Casa Howard à Rome, la décoration suit içi une ligne pleine de charme, d'aplomb et de diversité.

De charme, car l'arrangement des couleurs et l'aménagement des chambres relèvent du meilleur goût : à la fois sensuel mais jamais opulent et à la fois original mais jamais décalé.

D'aplomb, car tous les matériaux utilisés sont nobles, parfaitement authentiques et confèrent une impression de solidité.

Et enfin de diversité, car les cinq chambres offrent chacune une ambiance différente.

Nos jeunes hôteliers n'ont rien voulu laisser au hasard : de l'éclairage à la robinetterie, des carrelages au parquet, tous les équipements sont griffés et proviennent des meilleures maisons. Les produits de bains sont par exemple signés Hermès et le linge Frette. Et pour réaliser les travaux, ils ont bien sûr également fait appel aux meilleurs artisans de Rome.

Le résultat est d'une netteté incroyable et procure une profonde impression de luxe.

Témoin important de l'attention que les propriétaires ont souhaité porter à l'accueil de leurs hôtes : l'acoustique a été un détail clé. L'ensemble des portes intérieures permettent d'isoler chaque chambre et de la couper aussi bien des bruits de la ville que de ceux de l'appartement.

Pour accéder à la Casa Montani, il faut entrer au 9 de la place Flaminio (ouvert dans la journée, avec interphone le soir), prendre l'escalier C et se hisser au troisième étage, grâce à un ascenseur à cage métallique chargé de charme et d'histoire.

La porte d'entrée de l'appartement donne sur un petit salon qui fait office de réception. Habillé d'une belle bibliothèque en bois, d'une cheminée, de jolis fauteuils et de tissus aux larges rayures noir & crème, l'ensemble est superbe et constitue au bonne introduction.

De là, protégé par une porte, s'étire un couloir qui dessert les cinq chambres.

Décoré de toiles du peintre sicilien Beppe Butera, l'établissement propose trois chambres Deluxe (16m2), une Junior Suite (20m2) et une Suite (30m2).

Donnant sur la place Flaminio, la Suite est la plus agréable chambre de l'appartement avec une belle vue et une double exposition car elle occupe l'angle de l'immeuble.

La Junior Suite est peut-être à privilégier pour une famille de trois personnes ou pour les voyageurs munis de beaucoup de bagages. La partie salon, coupée de la chambre par une cloison, est trop étroite pour être totalement confortable, mais elle offre en revanche une banquette transformable en lit d'appoint (tout comme la Suite d'ailleurs).

Les trois chambres sont plutôt compactes mais de style divers : une romantique, avec sa tête de lit en bois sculpté, une écolo-chic pleine de peps avec ses murs de couleur verte, et la troisième, plus urbaine et classique, avec ses larges rayures de couleur ardoise.

Le matin, le petit déjeuner est servi en chambre.

A côté de ses très belles prestations, digne d'un palace, l'hôtel possède deux défauts mineurs : la taille des chambres, que l'on aimerait d'une superficie en rapport à leur niveau de luxe, et le fait de ne pas disposer d'espaces communs ou de bar, bien qu'il soit toutefois possible de prendre un café dans le salon de la réception.

Situé à deux pas de la Piazza del Popolo, et de ses bars et restaurants, à la fois branchés et touristiques, Casa Montani se trouve de l'autre côté de la muraille historique de Rome, à côté du tramway et le long d'un carrefour très passant, bref, idéal pour rejoindre tout Rome.

 

Pour qui ?

Sans parties communes ni salons, sans espaces superflus ni room service 24h/24, il décevra tous ceux qui sont à la recherche d'un luxe reposant sur l'espace et un large éventail de services disponibles en permanence.

Par contre, ce sera un lieu idéal pour les amoureux, les voyageurs solos et les familles qui privatiseront l'appartement.

Casa Montani est fait pour tous ceux qui aiment les ambiances intimistes-chic et qui aiment voyager de façon indépendante tout en étant accueilli par des hôtes de bonne famille et qui sauront leur faire partager leur amour et connaissance de la ville.

 

À partir de 200€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 7 Confort : 7
Confort Chambres 9 Confort : 9
Infrastructure & Services 7 Confort : 7
Confort Global 7 Confort Global : 7

Contacts & Réservation

Casa Montani

Piazzale Flaminio, 9
Scala C int. 4
00196

Station de Métro : Flaminio