Champs Elysées Plaza

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Impeccable

New owners, new energy and new decor for the Champs Elysées Plaza, but if eighteen months of renovations have brought an irrefutable breath of modernity to this discreet institution, founded in 1909, its Haussmannian heritage has fortunately not been jeopardized.

Quite the opposite actually, interior designer Christine Gerondeau has adamantly persevered in building connections between solid Haussmannian comfort and more contemporary pleasures.

The result is elegant and chic, and in line with the investments ventured.

The mouldings and wood panelling have been conserved, but repainted in subdued, up to date colours. Similar evolution for the large volumes, enlivened with contemporary art, the severity of the era spiced up with a touch of glamour, or, again, the richness of the materials enhanced with modern technology.

And so as soon as we pass the establishment's entrance, protected by a sumptuous awning, we come across a modest-sized lobby with reception on the left, opening to reveal what looks like a small sitting room, and the library/dining hall placed underneath a beautiful glass canopy. To the right-hand side of the lobby is a bar stretching in a long line all the way to the salon situated in the corner of the building.

The immediate overall effect is one of warmth: wood and carpet in shades of chocolate, offset by tints of rose, fuchsia or lilac. The only downside perhaps, to have hidden the magnificent period mosaics under a carpet whose snug thickness is the only justification.

Numerous other historic details have been left in place and enhanced, however, like the wrought-iron elevator, or the luminous painting of an aristocrat at the hotel's entrance, which evokes the sober and intense style of the American artist J. S. Sargent.

The 35 rooms and suites are all spacious and highly equipped. If they appear serious at first glance, the charm of their decoration is soon obvious: All the furnishings, fabrics and accessories come from the very best houses and together weave a luxurious patchwork.

The bed-heads are swathed in leather, as are the closets. There is much attention to detail, like the Nespresso machines present in every room. But beyond the materials, the colour co-ordinations suggest a patient ardour and give each room a sense of atmosphere. Delightful, the bathrooms in Art Deco style are embellished with every contemporary comfort.

There are three room categories: executive, junior suite and suite. Weighing in at over 30 square metres, these rooms count amongst the most voluminous in Paris.

The establishment also proposes a beautiful gym, below ground level but of an excellent size, and a hammam.

Open since the beginning of 2008, the hotel's restaurant completes an already impressive list of services for a lodging with less than 40 rooms.

On the corner of the rue d'Artois and the rue de Berri, the Champs Elysées Plaza enjoys a tranquil environment just a few paces away from the frenzy of the Champs Elysées.

Close to the financial establishments of the Boulevard Haussmann, the art galleries of Avenue Matignon, and some of the best Epicurean restaurants in Paris, the hotel's location should satisfy every whim and fancy.

 

Starting at 269€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 10 Rating : 10
Room amenities 9 Rating : 9
Property amenities 9 Rating : 9
Global Rating 9 Global Rating : 9

Contacts & booking

Champs Elysées Plaza

35 rue de Berri
75008

Metro station : George V - St Philippe du Roule

Champs Elysées Plaza

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Impeccable

Nouveaux propriétaires, nouvelle énergie et nouveaux décors au Champs Elysées Plaza, mais si dix-huit mois de travaux ont apporté un indéniable souffle contemporain à cette discrète institution, créée en 1909, son héritage haussmannien n'a heureusement pas été entamé.

Au contraire même, la décoratrice Christine Gerondeau s'est attachée à dessiner des passerelles entre le solide confort haussmannien et une sensualité plus contemporaine.

Le résultat est chic et élégant. A la hauteur des investissements réalisés.

Les moulures et panneaux de bois ont été conservés, mais repeints  de couleurs sobres et actuelles. De même pour les larges volumes, rehaussés d'art contemporain, ou bien la sévérité de cette époque, pimentée d'un soupçon glamour, ou même encore, la richesse des matériaux, agrémentée des technologies actuelles.

Ainsi, dès que l'on passe l'entrée de l'établissement, protégée par une somptueuse marquise, on rejoint un lobby à taille humaine, où s'ouvre sur la gauche, la réception, puis juste derrière, ce que l'on devine être un petit salon, avant la salle à manger-bibliothèque placée sous une belle verrière. A droite du lobby, s'ouvre un bar s'étirant en enfilade jusqu'au salon situé à l'angle de l'immeuble.

L'ensemble est immédiatement chaleureux : bois et moquette sur des tons marrons, un trait de couleurs vives, rose, fuschia ou parme. Seul bémol peut-être, avoir dissimulé les magnifiques mosaïques d'époque sous une moquette dont l'épaisseur reste la principale justification.

De nombreux autres détails historiques ont cependant été conservés et mis en valeur, comme l'ascenseur dans sa cage en fer forgé, ou comme le lumineux tableau d'une aristocrate, situé à l'entrée de l'hôtel, qui rappelle le style sobre et intense du peintre américain JS Sargent.

Les 35 chambres et suites de l'établissement sont toutes spacieuses et très bien équipées. Si elles apparaissent sérieuses à première vue, le charme de leur décoration est évident : tous les équipements, mobiliers et tissus proviennent des meilleures maisons et créent ainsi un luxueux patchwork.

Les têtes de lit sont recouvertes de cuir. Les penderies également. Les détails et attentions sont nombreux, comme les machines Nespresso présentes dans toutes les chambres. Mais au delà des matériaux, l'assemblage des couleurs relève d'un patient travail qui donne toute son atmosphère à chaque pièce. Très agréables, les salles de bains sont d'un style Art Déco agrémenté de tout le confort contemporain. 

Trois catégories de chambres existent : executive, junior suite et suite. Faisant plus de 30m2, ces chambres sont parmi les plus spacieuses de Paris.  

L'établissement propose également une très belle salle de fitness, en sous-sol mais avec de beaux volumes, et un hammam.

Ouvert début 2008, le restaurant de l'hôtel vient compléter une offre de services déjà riche pour un hôtel de moins de 40 chambres.

Situé à l'angle de la rue d'Artois et de la rue de Berri, le Champs Elysees Plaza profite d'un quartier tranquille, à quelques pas de la frénésie des Champs Elysées.

A proximité des établissements financiers du boulevard Haussmann, à proximité des galeries d'art de l'avenue Matignon, ou à proximité de quelques uns des meilleurs restaurants gastronomiques de Paris, l'emplacement de l'hôtel devrait satisfaire toutes les gourmandises.

 

À partir de 269€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 10 Confort : 10
Confort Chambres 9 Confort : 9
Infrastructure & Services 9 Confort : 9
Confort Global 9 Confort Global : 9

Contacts & Réservation

Champs Elysées Plaza

35 rue de Berri
75008

Station de Métro : George V - St Philippe du Roule