Color Design Hotel

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

The rainbow

Little brother to the Standard Design, the Hotel Color Design pushes to the east the adventure that its older brother had so well profited from.

Opened in June 2008 after important work, the establishment benefits from the experience accumulated by the team who set up the first hotel.

Created by Jean-Marc Galabert, one of Paris' major hoteliers who constructed success thanks to intelligent mid-range hotels, the hotel offers the gluttonous bourgeois bohemian region of Aligre - Saint Antoine a pleasant new hotel without too much chic, completely in tune with today's design but without being too conceptual.

The hotel's exterior is hard to see because the eyes are drawn to the next door building, which is completely dilapidated yet in full work, however inside, from the entrance to the bedrooms, from the floors to the ceilings, from the walls to the furniture, the ensemble of the hotel's design rests on white.

At the centre of this ocean of white, certain electrical dashes of colours crop up, which as a result come out even better. And to break the monotony of the white, the materials and the surfaces bring certain contrasts.

Designed by Carole Picard, the decoration is fresh, simple and in good spirit. The question of the white remains, so fragile, that one always needs a paintbrush at the ready to maintain the hotel's innocent freshness.

The hotel's 46 bedrooms are divided in two categories: standard and deluxe.

Willingly compact but pleasant and well designed; the standards offer the same equipment as the luxury, flat screen televisions with Canal+, free wireless and an iPod dock.

Therefore more spacious, notably concerning the bathrooms, the deluxe bedrooms also have bath robes, slippers and hair dryers. A nice detail is that the bathrooms have a surround sound stereo, which naturally provides a good accompaniment when singing in the shower.

It is worth noting that none of the bedrooms have a desk: a small glossed table frees up space and makes an office. In the same way, there are no mini bars in the bedrooms: drinks are available at reception.

All similar in terms of decoration, the bedrooms are simple yet well equipped : light carpet, beautiful small reading lamps within arms reach, overstitched white bedspreads, curtains in taffeta (the only piece of colour in the bedroom), low tables - bed head and high chair in aquacryl, designed by David Lange.

The double glazing is effective, but the road is quiet anyway.

In terms of service, the Hotel Color Design is simple and classic, with breakfast available in the bedroom, a concierge service assured at reception by young personnel who are in tune with the area.

In terms of the location, one must bear in mind that this is a nice and popular area which is in full transformation. There one finds some of the best and most bourgeois-bohemian bistros in Paris (rue Paul Bert), one finds the Aligre market and some decrepit buildings next to buildings of architects. In summary, a beautiful Parisian mix.

 

 

Starting at 105€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 6.5 Global Rating : 6.5

Contacts & booking

Color Design Hotel

35, rue de Citeaux
75012

Metro station : Faidherbe-Chaligny

Color Design Hotel

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

L'arc en ciel

Petit frère du Standard Design Hotel, le Color Design Hotel pousse plus à l'est l'aventure qui a si bien profité à son aîné.

Ouvert en juin 2008 après d'importants travaux, l'établissement profite de l'expérience accumulée par l'équipe qui a mis en place le premier hôtel.

Créé par Jean-Marc Galabert, un des grands hôteliers de Paris qui a construit sa réussite grâce à une hôtellerie moyenne gamme intelligente, l'hôtel offre au quartier bobo-gourmand d'Aligre - Saint Antoine un nouvel hôtel sympathique et sans chic superflu, totalement en phase avec le design d'aujourd'hui mais sans hyper conceptualisation.

Si l'extérieur de l'hôtel est difficilement visible tant le regard est attiré par l'immeuble voisin, à la fois totalement délabré et en plein travaux, à l'intérieur, de l'entrée aux chambres, des sols aux plafonds, des murs aux meubles, l'ensemble du design de l'hôtel repose sur le blanc.

Au milieu de cet océan de blanc, surgissent quelques notes électriques de couleurs qui ressortent d'autant mieux. Et pour casser la motonie du blanc, les matières et les surfaces jouent de quelques contrastes.

Dessinée par Carole Picard, la décoration est fraîche, simple et d'un bon esprit. Reste la question du blanc, si fragile, qui nécessitera d'avoir toujours un pinceau à la main pour garder à l'hôtel son innocente fraîcheur.Les 48 chambres de l'établissement se divisent en deux catégories : les standards et les deluxes.

Les 46 chambres de l'établissement se divisent en deux catégories : les standards et les deluxes.

Volontiers compactes mais agréables et bien dessinées, les standards offrent les mêmes équipements que les deluxes, à savoir télévisions à écran plat avec Canal+, wifi gratuit et un dock iPod.

Plus spacieuses donc, notamment en ce qui concerne les salles de bains, les deluxes disposent en plus de peignoirs de bains, de chaussons ainsi que de sèches cheveux. Détail sympathique, les salles de bains possèdent un renvoi stéréo, qui permet naturellement d'avoir un bon accompagnement quand on chante sous la douche.

A noter qu'aucune des chambres ne possède de bureaux : une tablette en laque permet de gagner de la place et fait office de. De la même manière, pas de mini-bars dans les chambres : les boissons sont disponibles à la réception.

Toutes similaires en terme de décoration, les chambres sont simples mais correctement équipées : moquette claire, belles liseuses à bras articulé, dessus de lit surpiqués blancs, rideaux en taffetas (seule pointe de couleur de la chambre), tables basses - tête de lit et chaise haute en laque daquacryl, dessinés par David Lange.

Le double vitrage est efficace, mais la rue est calme de toute façon.

Côté service, le Color Design Hotel la joue simple et classique, avec le petit déjeuner disponible en chambre, une conciergerie assurée à la réception par un personnel jeune et en phase avec le quartier.

Côté quartier, il faut bien avoir en tête qu'il s'agit d'un sympathique quartier populaire en pleine transformation. On y trouve quelques uns des meilleurs bistros bobos de Paris (rue Paul Bert), on y trouve le marché d'Aligre et quelques immeubles bien décrépis à côté d'immeubles d'architectes. Bref, un beau mélange parisien.

À partir de 105€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 6.5 Confort Global : 6.5

Contacts & Réservation

Color Design Hotel

35, rue de Citeaux
75012

Station de Métro : Faidherbe-Chaligny