Hotel Art

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Beneath the art vaults

What could be more normal than the religious chapel of a private school from the 19th century becoming the bar of a hotel in vaults painted midnight blue and covered with gold dust?

We are definitely in Rome, but Via Margutta, the road welcoming artists and gallerias since the 17th century, lined discreetly with studios and gardens has a relaxed manner which makes you forget the crazed busyness of the shopping street, via del Babuino, which runs parallel to it.

Opened in 2002 and conceived by the architects Gianfranco Mangiarotti and Raniero Botti, the Art Hotel is a modern homage to the Via Margutta's vocation.

Behind a discreet entrance, creative treasures are hidden which transform the harshness of the religious architecture into an invitation to dream.

Your first steps inside the Art Hotel take you into the ancient school chapel, which by chance has become the vibrant heart of the hotel. The first surprise comes from the unlikely meeting with an astonishing oval shaped silver capsule, like a small flying saucer, but which houses, in this instance, the reception. Across from the reception the hotel opens out into the vault of the chapel, underneath which is the bar/breakfast room of the hotel.

Adjacent to this chapel, you continue into the old boarding school, which has been transformed into the 46 rooms of the boutique hotel. Everything is quite similar, the rooms are at once sober, functional and not too spacious. The walls are painted in calming tones of cream and light colours, and the wood and leather style of the furniture brings a certain warmth and naturalness to the rooms.

On each floor of the hotel the corridors bear a different bright, energetic colour, as well as being dotted with poems. Like a design echo, the designer bathrooms are done in the same colours, which is a good way of insuring you wake up properly in the morning!

With art exhibitions being held here, a small art library and a little patio, the originality of this small lively hotel seeps into everything: introducing art in all its forms, but always in the style of a light-hearted quote, rather than one of deep philosophical reflection. A gymnasium with a small sauna and hammam completes the picture.

The service is traditional.

 

The clientele

The hotel attracts an international clientele, rather refined and stylish, whatever their style or age. It allows all amateurs of new-design to view Rome in a non-conventional way which is something that very few hotels in Rome dare to do.

 

Starting at 180€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 7 Rating : 7
Room amenities 8 Rating : 8
Breakfast 8 Rating : 8
Property amenities 8 Rating : 8
Global Rating 8 Global Rating : 8

Contacts & booking

Hotel Art

Via Margutta, 56
00187

Metro station : Spagna

Hotel Art

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Sous les voûtes de l’art

Quoi de plus normal que la très religieuse chapelle d’un collège privé du XIXème siècle devienne un bar d’hôtel aux voûtes bleu nuit couvertes de poussière d’or ?

Nous sommes bien à Rome, mais Via Margutta, rue accueillant artistes et galeristes depuis le XVIIème siècle, alignant discrètement ateliers et jardins dans une décontraction qui ferait oublier la folie commerçante de la rue parallèle, la Via del Babuino.

Ouvert en 2002 et conçu par les architectes Gianfranco Mangiarotti et Raniero Botti, l’hôtel Art est un hommage moderne à la vocation de la rue Margutta.

Derrière une entrée discrète, se cachent des trésors de créativité qui métamorphosent la rigueur de l’architecture religieuse en une invitation au rêve.

Les premiers pas au sein de l'Hotel Art se font au sein de l'ancienne chapelle du collège, devenue pour l'occasion, le cœur vivant de l'hôtel. Et la première surprise revient à l'improbable rencontre avec une étonnante capsule ovoïde et argentée, comme une petite soucoupe volante, mais qui abrite en l'occurence la réception. Face à elle, s'ouvre la voûte de la chapelle sous laquelle prend place le bar / salle de petit-déjeuners de l'hôtel.

Attenant à cette chapelle, on accède à l'ancien pensionnat religieux, quant à lui transformé pour accueillir les 46 chambres de ce boutique hôtel. Toutes assez similaires, elles sont à la fois sobres, plutôt fonctionnelles et peu spacieuses. Apaisantes, les murs sont peints d'une couleurs crème, parfois fragile, et les éléments de bois et de cuir du mobilier apportent chaleur et naturel.

A chaque étage de l'hôtel, les couloirs arborent une couleur différente, vive et pleine de peps, ainsi que des murs constellés de poèmes. Comme en écho, les salles de bains design reprennent les mêmes couleurs. Ce qui est une bonne façon d'être sûr de bien se réveiller le matin !

Expositions d’œuvres d’art, petite bibliothèque d'art, petit patio, l’originalité de ce petit hôtel plein de ressort se glisse de toutes parts : introduisant l’art sous toutes ses formes, et toujours plutôt comme une citation pleine de légèreté plutôt qu'à la façon d'une profonde réflexion. Une salle de gymnastique avec un petit sauna et hammam complètent l’offre.

Service classique.

 

Pour qui ?

L'hôtel attire une clientèle internationale, plutôt raffinée et tendance, quel que soit son style ou son âge. Il permettra à tous ceux amateurs de décors nouveaux d'envisager Rome d'une façon non conventionnelle et comme peu d'hôtels à Rome osent le faire.

 

À partir de 180€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 7 Confort : 7
Confort Chambres 8 Confort : 8
Petit-Déjeuner 8 Confort : 8
Infrastructure & Services 8 Confort : 8
Confort Global 8 Confort Global : 8

Contacts & Réservation

Hotel Art

Via Margutta, 56
00187

Station de Métro : Spagna