Hotel Britania

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

The Redolence of an Era

Inaugurated in 1944 under the name Hotel do Império, the Hotel Britania immediately gained a reputation as one of the city's most modern and luxurious hotels, resounding with the talk and laughter of the politicians, financiers and intellectuals that stayed there regularly.

The marble floors and common spaces of this small hotel, about thirty rooms, no longer see such patronage, but something of that time remains between its columns and crisp lines.

While completely renovating the Hotel Britania in 2001, the family hotelier group, Héritage, took care to revive, while also conserving, the establishment designed by Cassiano Branco, one of the big Portuguese names of Art Deco architecture.

Today it is a marvel to be able to stroll down the high-ceilinged corridors, through the sitting rooms and to walk in front of its former barber-hairdresser which has been kept as a museum piece.  It is also a treat to let yourself give in to the dreams so readily implied by the carefully restored antique furniture, and the historical volumes that can no longer be found in any hotel:  awesome, dignified, but within your reach.

The rooms are all very similar, spacious and perfect examples of Art Deco, made with very purified lines, somber furniture, high ceilings and astonishing parquet floors of varnished cork oak (you wanted traditional!).  One aspect of the hotel's charm can be found sunkissed austerity.  An exception to the rule, one suite located on the top floor is quite contemporary chic with a private terrace bathed in sunlight.

The one testimony to that era in Lisbon, the hotel has been classified as a historical monument. 

Its austere simplicity, natural elegance and the spirit of its service, which is warm and attentive - and includes a glass of Porto on the house - makes it one of the city's most endearing establishments.

 

The clientele

Attractive to a rather traditional sort of clientele, the hotel will captivate all history lovers and atmosphere seekers.  Although the low chairs may be badly suited for business travelers, the hotel is completely equipped with free, wireless Internet connections.  In addition to the Art Deco lines and that style, the hotel is perfectly located in the heart of city, allowing clients to easily take advantage of all the city's neighborhoods.

 

 

Starting at 145€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 8 Rating : 8
Room amenities 8 Rating : 8
Breakfast 8 Rating : 8
Property amenities 8 Rating : 8
Global Rating 8 Global Rating : 8

Contacts & booking

Hotel Britania

R. Rodrigues Sampaio, 17
1150-278

Hotel Britania

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Le parfum d'une époque

Inauguré en 1944 sous le nom d'Hotel do Império et immédiatement réputé comme un des plus modernes et les plus luxueux de la ville, l'Hotel Britania résonnait alors des discussions et des éclats de rires des politiciens, financiers ou intellectuels qui le fréquentaient avec assiduité.

Les marbres et les larges espaces communs de ce petit hôtel d'une trentaine de chambres ont cessé de vivre sous ces hauts patronnages, mais il reste entre ses colonnes et ses lignes claires quelque chose d'une époque.

En remettant parfaitement à neuf l'Hotel Britania en 2001, le groupe hôtelier familial Héritage a pris soin de faire revivre, tout en le conservant, l'établissement dessiné par Cassiano Branco, un des grands noms portugais de l'architecture Art Déco.

C'est alors aujourd'hui une merveille que de pouvoir déambuler le long de ces hauts couloirs, de ces salons, que de passer devant son ancien barbier-coiffeur, gardé comme pièce de musée, enfin, de se laisser aller à une rêverie si bien suggérée par le mobilier d'époque restauré avec soin, et par des volumes historiques qu'on ne retrouve plus dans aucun hôtel : imposants, dignes, mais à taille humaine.

Les chambres sont toutes assez similaires, spacieuses et parfaitement Art Déco, faites de lignes très épurées, de mobilier sombre, de hauteur sous plafond et d'étonnants parquets de liège vernis (tradition quand tu nous tiens !). L'austérité ensoleillée qui s'en dégage donne tout son caractère et son incroyable charme à l'hôtel. Exception à la règle, une suite située au dernier étage, très design et bénéficiant d'une terrasse privative baignée de soleil.

Seul témoin de cette époque à Lisbonne, l'hôtel est classé monument historique.

Son austère simplicité, sa naturelle élégance et l'esprit de son service, attentif, souriant et offrant un verre de Porto à ses hôtes, en fait un des établissements les plus attachants de la ville.

 

Pour qui ?

Attirant une clientèle d'un naturel plutôt classique, l'hôtel séduira tous les amateurs d'atmosphères et d'histoire. Si les chaises basses des chambres peuvent être mal commodes pour une clientèle d'affaires, l'hôtel est totalement équipé d'internet sans fil et gratuit. Au delà des lignes Art Déco et de leur cachet, l'hôtel est parfaitement placé au coeur de la ville et permet de profiter facilement de tous ses quartiers.

 

À partir de 145€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 8 Confort : 8
Confort Chambres 8 Confort : 8
Petit-Déjeuner 8 Confort : 8
Infrastructure & Services 8 Confort : 8
Confort Global 8 Confort Global : 8

Contacts & Réservation

Hotel Britania

R. Rodrigues Sampaio, 17
1150-278