Hôtel des Académies et des Arts

Summary

Guided tour

Location

Services & Prices

The Birth of a Vocation

‘Everything changes, yet nothing changes'. This little hotel at 15 rue de la Grande Chaumière has maintained its homely style since the 1920s. Its new proprietors, Mr and Mrs Inchauspé, have an even stronger desire to conserve one thing: the love of art still lingers through this little Montparnasse street which was so dear to artists at the start of the twentieth century.

This love of art, combined with a passion for hotels, initiated a vocation for the Inchauspés. Mr Inchauspé, an enthusiastic Basque, forged his career in two very different worlds, auditing and audiovisual production, whereas his wife is a former broadcast journalist. Their former careers mean that they have maintained a preoccupation for good and honest work : Charlotte and Laurent know how to launch various artists onto the scene with rigueur.

Having opened the hotel at the start of 2007 and accomplishing the dream of a lifetime, the proprietor's first love was the surprising white figures of Jérôme Mesnager, which are painted in different positions on numerous walls of the hotel. Sculptor Sophie de Watrigant's white acrobats accompany them with joyful pertinence. As well as these artists, the hotel offers art films and cultivates its Parisian soul thanks to a style of décor which combines bistro chic with contemporary boudoir.

Surrounding some twenty rather small bedrooms, designed by Charlotte Inchauspé in collaboration with the interior designer Vincent Bastie, the hotel has four different atmospheres, both sober and sensual, evoking the refined forms of the 1920s and the glamour of Parisian velvet. All use fabrics from the grand Parisian houses. Service is especially welcoming, with a classic and beautiful elegance.

 

The clientele

Recently opened, the hotel attracts a cultured and international clientele, coming to Paris for a holiday. The Hotel des Académies et des Arts will satisfy anybody looking for a chic and pleasant cocoon, and they will be greeted with one of the most welcoming smiles in town. 

 

Starting at 210€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 6 Rating : 6
Room amenities 7 Rating : 7
Breakfast 7 Rating : 7
Property amenities 7.5 Rating : 7.5
Global Rating 7.5 Global Rating : 7.5

Contacts & booking

Hôtel des Académies et des Arts

15, rue de la Grande Chaumière
75006

Hôtel des Académies et des Arts

En résumé

Visite guidée

Emplacement

Prestations

La naissance d'une vocation

« Tout change, rien ne change ». S’il ne reste plus rien du petit hôtel qui avait maintenu son style familial au 15 rue de la Grande Chaumière depuis les années 20, Madame et Monsieur Inchauspé, les nouveaux propriétaires des lieux, ont eu cependant à cœur de conserver une chose : l’amour des arts qui flotte encore dans cette petite rue du quartier Montparnasse si cher aux artistes du début du XXème siècle.

Cet amour des arts, doublé d'une passion des hôtels, a initié une vocation pour l'hospitalité chez ce couple dont le mari, Basque enthousiaste, a forgé sa carrière dans des univers très différents, à savoir l’audit d’entreprises ou la production audio-visuelle, tandis que son épouse est une ancienne journaliste audiovisuel. Ayant gardé de leurs anciens métiers le souci du travail propre et bien fait, Charlotte et Laurent ont su mettre en scène avec rigueur le travail de différents artistes.

Ayant ouvert l’hôtel début 2007 et accomplissant un rêve de longue date, le coup de foudre de la propriétaire est allé aux étonnants personnages blancs de Jérôme Mesnager, peints dans différentes postures sur de nombreux murs de l’hôtel. Le travail du sculpteur Sophie de Watrigant, avec ses acrobates blancs, l’accompagne avec une joyeuse pertinence. Au-delà de ces artistes, l’hôtel propose des vidéos d’art et cultive son âme parisienne grâce à une décoration entre bistro chic et boudoir contemporain.

Autour d'une vingtaine de chambres plutôt compactes, conçues par Charlotte Inchauspé en collaboration avec l’architecture d’intérieur Vincent Bastie, l’hôtel décline quatre ambiances différentes, à la fois sobres et sensuelles, rappelant les formes épurées des années 20 ou le glamour d’un velours parisien. Toutes utilisent les tissus de grandes maisons parisiennes. Service accueillant et plutôt classique.  

Pour qui ?

Récemment ouvert, l'hôtel attire une clientèle internationale, cultivée et venant à Paris pour ses loisirs. L'hotel des Académies et des Arts satisfera tous ceux à la recherche d'un cocon chic et sympathique, ouvert sur les arts et la ville.

À partir de 210€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 6 Confort : 6
Confort Chambres 7 Confort : 7
Petit-Déjeuner 7 Confort : 7
Infrastructure & Services 7.5 Confort : 7.5
Confort Global 7.5 Confort Global : 7.5

Contacts & Réservation

Hôtel des Académies et des Arts

15, rue de la Grande Chaumière
75006