Hotel Hassler Roma Villa Medici

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

The Grand Tradition

A unique Roman palace that remains under family management, the Hassler Roma Villa Medici is the embodiment of five generations of Swiss hospitality in Rome, a mystical site, a culinary delight of a restaurant and one of the most beautiful views of the city.

Founded by Mr Hassler, a brilliant Swiss hotel manager, whom the hotel is named after, the hotel was completely renovated in 1939 by Oscar Wirth, the grandfather of the current owner, thus giving the hotel a renovation worthy of its location.

Perhaps it owes its timeless charm to its eminent and pious neighbour, the church Trinité des Monts, or to the grand views across the city, its domes and rooftops, but in the Hassler time seems to tick by in a more measured fashion than anywhere else.

Somewhere between art-deco and neo-classical, with a sometimes opulent elegance, enhanced by silk and ornaments, the 82 rooms, 10 deluxe suites and three presidential suites have welcomed many celebrities and heads of state visiting Rome.

Even though the Classic rooms are not the most seductive, they still benefit from the same services as the other rooms. The most luxurious types of rooms, the Deluxe and Grand Deluxe are more spacious and offer more comfort, and even the most recently redone rooms are decorated in the glamorous 1920s style.

But it is with these suites that the hotel has gained its notoriety. Situated on the top floors, decorated with the greatest care and with the best materials, they offer the most beautiful views of Rome, and include, in the more luxurious rooms, a private terrace.

Opened at the end of 2006 with a new name and a new image, "Imàgo", Hassler's gastronomic restaurant offers you a unique setting with a terrace that displays a panoramic view of the city. In the summer there is the opportunity to eat al fresco in the Palm Court Garden. The Hassler Bar, furnished in wood and leather, is the hotel's cocktail bar, whilst Eva's Room, with its library and ornaments is the hotel's tearoom.

For those who prefer something more modern and for the wine amateurs, the Hassler also provides a charming adjoining annexe, "Il Palazzetto", a veritable little palace along the stairwell of the Piazza di Spagna. It is more intimate, with only four rooms, more casual-chic, with its three conveniences: restaurant, wine cellar and hotel, "Il Palazzetto" is a beautiful and appetising escape at a reasonable price.

 

The clientele

Perfectly traditional, even in the renovated rooms, the Hassler is for a clientele who appreciate everything being just where it should be and who enjoy the kind of luxury where space is not of the utmost importance, but where comfort coupled with the view makes this hotel one of the best in Rome.

 

Starting at 600€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 10 Global Rating : 10

Contacts & booking

Hotel Hassler Roma Villa Medici

Piazza Trinita dei Monti, 6
00187

Metro station : Spagna

Hotel Hassler Roma Villa Medici

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

La grande tradition

Unique palace romain à être resté sous gestion familiale, le Hassler Roma Villa Medici incarne cinq générations d'hospitalité suisse à Rome, un emplacement mythique, un restaurant gastronomique et une des plus belles vues sur la ville.

Fondé par Mr. Hassler, brillant hôtelier suisse qui lui a donné son nom, l'hôtel a été entièrement reconstruit en 1939 par Oscar Wirth, le grand-père de l'actuel propriétaire, qui lui donna alors une stature à la hauteur de son emplacement.

Peut-être est-ce dû à son éminente et pieuse voisine, l'église Trinité des Monts, à son charme intemporel ou aux longs regards qu'il offre sur le calme de la ville, ses coupoles et ses volées de tuiles, mais au Hassler, le temps semble couler de façon plus mesurée qu'ailleurs.

Entre art-déco et néo-classique, d'une élégance parfois opulente, faite de soies et de festons, les 82 chambres, 10 suites deluxe et trois suites présidentielles de l'établissement ont accueilli nombre personnalités et chefs d'état en visite à Rome.

Si les premières catégories de chambres, les Classiques, ne sont pas les plus séduisantes, elles bénéficient des mêmes prestations et services que les autres. Plus spacieuses, les deux catégories de chambres supérieures, les Deluxe et Grand Deluxe offrent davantage de confort, et même pour les plus récemment refaites, d'un design années 20 qui ne manque pas de glamour. 

Mais c'est avec ses suites que l'hôtel a gagné ses lettres de noblesse. Situées dans les étages élevées, décorées avec le plus grand soin et avec les meilleurs matériaux, elles offrent les plus belles vues sur Rome, et parfois, pour les plus luxueuses, une terrasse privée.   

Ouvert fin 2006 avec un nouveau nom et un nouveau décor, "Imàgo", le restaurant gastronomique du Hassler propose un cadre unique avec sa terrasse panoramique dominant la ville. En été, il est possible de profiter de la fraîcheur du Palm Court Garden. Le Hassler Bar habillé de bois et de cuir est le bar à cocktail de la maison tandis qu'Eva's Room, aves sa bibliothèque et ses bibelot fait office de salon de thé.

Pour les plus modernes et les amateurs de vin, le Hassler propose une annexe au charme contemporain, "Il Palazzetto", véritable petit palais situé le long de l'escalier de la Piazza di Spagna. Plus intimiste, avec seulement quatre chambres, plus informel-chic, avec son triplé plaisir : restaurant, académie du vin et hôtellerie, "Il Palazzetto" est une échappée belle et gourmande à prix raisonnables.

 

Pour qui ?

D'un classicisme parfait, même quand les chambres ont été refaites, le Hassler est réservé à une clientèle qui apprécie que chaque chose soit à sa place et qui prévilégie un luxe dont l'espace n'est pas la première vertu, mais dont le confort couplé à la vue est un des tous premiers à Rome.

 

À partir de 600€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 10 Confort Global : 10

Contacts & Réservation

Hotel Hassler Roma Villa Medici

Piazza Trinita dei Monti, 6
00187

Station de Métro : Spagna