Hôtel Lutetia

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

The elder woman from the right bank

In homage to days past, the Lutétia continues to illuminate Paris' right bank like a calm but majestic lighthouse.

Founded in 1910, it has a touch of belle époque in its external architecture, along with a completely art deco interior. As an established artists hangout from past to present, it was occupied by the Nazis during World War II and host for those who escaped the concentration camps as soon as the war ended. This establishment has now claimed the French capital as her own, and appropriately sports the latin motto : « fluctuat nec mergitur », which means, facing rough waters without ever despairing.

In a neighborhood surrounded by small passageways and charming shops, the imposing size of the Lutétia can only remind one of its neighborhood shopping center Bon Marché. But nothing is a coincidence : Mme Boucicaut, who is the founding owner of the Bon Marché, is also the founder of the hotel which, she hoped would give a warm welcome to its clients arriving from the countryside.

For a long time this hotel was owned by the Taittinger family, and its decor still reflects the inspiration of Sybille de Margerie. However, more than its decoration, the Lutetia brought a spark to a neighborhood which was lacking at times, but is today discreet and chic.

It's busy tambour doors reflects this style, along with the hotels large corridors and animated lounge areas. Its guests are welcomed at the reception by its elegant clients and personnel, its columns and marble, its woodwork and various sculptures of Arman or Cesar (surprisingly, made by Gustave Eiffel).

The hotel itself is a cultural focal point. Various artists and writers meet and are interviewed there, and every weekend at 22h30 an inspiring array of jazz concerts take place in the lounge area.

The worldly mingle in a world apart at this hotel, complete with a chic art-deco gourmet restaurant "le Paris", its brasserie "Lutetia," (which is casual but lively), and its bar-salon, which is the life center of the establishment.

Following the long corridors which lead to the 230 hotel room is like going back in time.

While some have had a contemporary make over, the rooms in the Lutetia have preserved their vintage charm.

Low-key but spacious, calm and simple, the rooms contain art deco furniture which goes well with the ambiance.

The brown tones are complimented by carpets and fine furnishings, along with a bright white beadspread that stretches out across the bed and compliments the painted walls.  The hotel also recently changed its rather dull selection of linens, including bedspreads and covers, for a more contemporary look.

The Lutetia is an elder woman indeed. With a touch of imagination, one can appreciate her for her charms of yesteryear, even if they may seem a bit worn at times. At the end of the day, love of perfection is but a youthful sin!

Nonetheless, the hotel is modernizing itself little by little. Although they are not perfect, the rooms are fairly soundproof. The bathrooms were partly redone, along with some of the suties. Wifi is available in the entire hotel. While its high tech features and luxury amenities are not the hotels focus, a mini-bar and safety deposit box are standard amenities.

The establishment has three types of rooms. The high end rooms look out to the Lutetias' courtyard, and are calm, a nice size, and enjoy the hotels high standard quality. While they aren't the reason what this hotel is a must stop, they are particularly suitable for business stays.

The deluxe rooms are quite spacious, and face the outside of the building. With an office, and relaxation corner with a table and two couches, they are perfect for both pleasure and business stays. Most of the bathrooms (but not all!) come with two large basins and a separate shower and bathtub. Of course, the rooms on the higher floors have more light, while those on the lower ones are noisier.

The suites are divided between junior and junior executive according to their style, along with the Lutetia prestige suite.

Despite its size, which does not allow for service as personalized as in a boutique hotel, the Lutetia offers an almost unrivaled range of services on the right bank including an Anglophone concierge available 24 hours a day, and room service available at any hour of the night. The personnel are young and welcoming, which is a nice surprise for a chain hotel.

 

 

Starting at 220€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 9 Global Rating : 9

Contacts & booking

Hôtel Lutetia

45, bd Raspail
75006

Metro station : Sèvres-Babylone

Hôtel Lutetia

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

La vieille dame de la rive gauche

Hommage aux temps passés, le Lutetia continue d'éclairer la Rive Gauche parisienne tel un phare aussi paisible que majestueux.

Créé en 1910, un brin belle époque dans son architecture extérieure, totalement art-déco dans sa décoration intérieure, lieu de séjour établi et naturel des artistes d'hier et d'aujourd'hui, occupé par les Nazis durant la deuxième guerre mondiale, chargé d'accueillir les rescapés des camps de concentration au lendemain de la guerre, l'établissement a fait sienne la devise de la capitale française dont elle porte l'ancien nom latin : « fluctuat nec mergitur », c'est à dire, battu par les flots sans jamais sombrer.

Dans un quartier plutôt habitué aux ruelles et aux petites adresses de charme, l'imposante taille du Lutétia ne peut que rapeller celle du Bon Marché voisin. Le hasard n'y est pour rien : Mme Boucicaut, la propriétaire à l'origine du Bon Marché, est également à l'origine de l'hôtel dont elle souhaitait qu'il puisse accueillir dignement ses clients de province.

Longtemps propriété de la famille Taittinger, l'hôtel porte encore l'inspiration de la décoration signée par Sybille de Margerie. Mais plus qu'une décoration, le Lutetia apporte l'étincelle qu'il manque parfois à un quartier totalement chic et tranquille.

Peut-être que cela tient à ses portes à tambour toujours au travail, à ses grandes allées et à ses salons toujours vivants, à l'élégance de ses clients et de son personnel, à ses colones et à ses marbres, à ses boiseries et à ses multiples sculptures, comme celles d'Arman ou de César, à qui l'on doit l'étonnant « Gustave Eiffel », accueillant les voyageurs à la réception.

Car l'hôtel est le siège d'une vie culturelle animée. De nombreux artistes ou écrivains s'y retrouvent ou s'y font interviewer, et tous les week-ends, son salon accueille dès 22h30 des concerts de jazz à la programmation inspirée.

Et c'est un monde qui s'y croise parce que l'hôtel en lui-même est un monde, avec son restaurant gastronomique « le Paris », art-déco chic, sa brasserie « Lutetia », plus vivante et informelle, et son bar-salon, siège incontesté de la vie de l'établissement.

Ensuite, lorsque l'on suit ses longs couloirs pour rejoindre une des 230 chambres de l'hôtel, c'est comme remonter le temps.

Bien que certaines d'entre elles aient été refaites de façon contemporaine, les chambres du Lutetia conservent un incroyable charme suranné.

A la fois très sobres et spacieuses, calmes et sans fioritures, elles déclinent un mobilier art déco, parfait dans l'esprit bien que souvent dans son jus.

Les tons sont bruns, côté moquette et mobilier, rehaussé par le blanc éclatant des couettes qui recouvrent le lit et celui des murs peints. Venant récemment de changer sa literie, l'hôtel a abondonné ses couvertures et ses couvre-lits un peu ternes, au profit de couettes plus modernes.

Alors oui bien sûr, le Lutetia est une vieille dame. Et c'est pour cela qu'il faut faire preuve d'imagination et qu'elle doit être appréciée pour ses charmes d'antan, même si ceux-ci peuvent parfois apparaître un peu fânés. Après tout, l'amour de la perfection est un péché de jeunesse !

Cependant, l'hôtel se modernise peu à peu. Bien que parfois imparfaite, l'isolation des chambres est bonne pour la plupart. Les salles de bains ont été en partie refaites. Certaines suites également. Le wifi est disponible dans tout l'hôtel et si l'électronique et l'abus de prestations de luxe ne sont pas les penchants premiers de l'établissement, mini-bar et coffre sont systématiquement à disposition.

L'établissement propose trois types de chambres.

Donnant sur la cour intérieure du Lutetia, les chambres supérieures ont l'avantage d'être calmes, de taille correcte et de bénéficier des standards de l'hôtel. Ce ne sont bien évidemment pas celles qui méritent le détour, bien qu'elles s'avèrent pratique pour le voyageurs d'affaires.

Les chambres deluxes sont agréablement spacieuses et donnent sur l'extérieur du bâtiment. Dotées d'un bureau et d'un coin relaxation, avec sa table et ses deux fauteuils, elles sont adaptées aussi bien pour le loisir que pour les affaires. La plupart des salles de bains (mais pas toutes !) peuvent être munies de deux vasques, ainsi que d'une douche et d'une baignoire séparée. Bien évidemment, les chambres dans les étages supérieures seront plus lumineuses tandis que les autres seront plus bruyantes.

Les suites se partagent entre junior suite, junior suite executive, suite à thème et les deux suites prestige du Lutetia.

Malgré sa taille, qui ne permet bien sûr par un service aussi personnalisé que dans un boutique hôtel, le Lutetia délivre un éventail de services presque inégalé rive gauche : un concierge anglophone présent 24h sur 24, et un room service disponible également toute la nuit. Jeune et accueillant, le personnel est plutôt une bonne surprise pour un hôtel qui malgré tout fait partie d'une chaîne.

 

À partir de 220€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 9 Confort Global : 9

Contacts & Réservation

Hôtel Lutetia

45, bd Raspail
75006

Station de Métro : Sèvres-Babylone