Hôtel Pont Royal

Summary

Guided tour

Location

Services & Prices

An understated and welcoming hotel with a fascinating literary past

Built in 1923 near the Gallimard publishing house, over the years the Pont Royal hotel has welcomed an almost unbelievable number of literary Nobel prize-winners and other talented writers. 

After being taken over by the Hôtels du Roy group, the Pont Royal reopened in 1999 after work lasting two years. The designer Alain Marcot has kept the elegant façade and the outward appearance of a grand hotel and turned his attention to the decor which is understated, small scale and made welcoming by the presence of dark, mahogany wood.

Jean-Paul Sartre, Albert Camus, Samuel Beckett and many other famous writers have played a part in the history of the hotel while unobtrusive wrought iron vines now bear witness to its gourmet aspirations and the enthusiasm of the new owner for good wines.

The lounges are cosy and overlook a small Japanese garden, the hotel boasts a restaurant of repute, L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon and staff in the hotel are attentive. The Pont-Royal has a contemporary, lively feel in spite of the traditional decor which is particularly evident in the bedrooms.

The hotel’s central location, between the Right and Left Banks is an advantage for those wishing to visit Paris’s large museums and the boutiques of Saint Germain des Prés. Rooms on the top floors have the best views of Paris.

 

The clientele

The Pont Royal Hotel aims to attract the smart, international guest who wants traditional facilities in a relaxed way and will appreciate its location, public rooms, solid, cosy feel and gourmet food.

Starting at 390€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 8 Rating : 8
Room amenities 8 Rating : 8
Breakfast 9 Rating : 9
Property amenities 9 Rating : 9
Global Rating 8 Global Rating : 8

Contacts & booking

Hôtel Pont Royal

7, rue de Montalembert
75007

Metro station : Rue du Bac

Hôtel Pont Royal

En résumé

Visite guidée

Emplacement

Prestations

Un hôtel sobre et chaleureux au brillant passé littéraire

Construit en 1923 à proximité des éditions Gallimard, l’hôtel du Pont Royal a accueilli durant de nombreuses années une concentration incroyable de prix Nobel de littérature et d’écrivains de talent.

Devenu propriété des Hôtels & Résidences du Roy, l’hôtel a réouvert en 1999 après deux ans de travaux. Tout en conservant l’élégante façade de l’établissement et ses allures de grand hôtel, le décorateur Alain Marcot a conçu une décoration sobre où la présence d’acajou apporte intimité et chaleur.

Présents à travers de nombreuses photos, Sartre, Camus, Beckett et tant d’autres illustres écrivains, rappellent l’histoire de l’établissement, tandis que de discrets motifs de vigne en fer forgé soulignent la vocation gourmande de la maison et la passion du nouveau propriétaire pour la vigne.

Avec des salons très cosy, une verrière ouverte sur un petit jardin japonisant, le très réputé restaurant « l’Atelier de Joël Robuchon » et un service attentif, l’hôtel Pont-Royal possède une allure contemporaine et tonique tout en conservant un esprit assez classique, notamment dans la décoration de ses chambres.

L’emplacement central, entre rive droite et rive gauche, permet de profiter de la proximité des grands musées parisiens et des boutiques de Saint Germain des Prés. Certaines chambres Deluxes et Junior Suites des derniers étages bénéficient de magnifiques vues sur Paris.

 

Pour qui ?

L’hôtel du Pont Royal se destine à une clientèle chic, internationale, à la fois très classique et décontractée, appréciant l’établissement aussi bien pour son emplacement, ses salons que son côté solide, feutré et gourmand.

 

À partir de 390€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 8 Confort : 8
Confort Chambres 8 Confort : 8
Petit-Déjeuner 9 Confort : 9
Infrastructure & Services 9 Confort : 9
Confort Global 8 Confort Global : 8

Contacts & Réservation

Hôtel Pont Royal

7, rue de Montalembert
75007

Station de Métro : Rue du Bac