Hôtel San Regis

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

The Elegance and Discretion of a Hotel Particulier

Though the chimneys of this hotel particulier, which was built in 1857 for Edmond Petit, have long since stopped crackling, the San Regis Hotel keeps working its warm and discreet charm from its location in a quiet street between the Champs Elysees and the Seine.

The establishment became a hotel in 1923, under the impulse of the legendary Andre Terrail, the founder of the George V hotel. The Georges family, which has owned the place since the 1980s, has knowingly recreated the place.

As a great amateur of art, Elie Georges bought the worn down hotel in 1984. It was then but a relic of its past 1950s glory. When Andre Terrail sold the George V he took his most beautiful furnishings - and his best clients, including Lauren Bacall, Romy Schneider, Gene Kelly and Jacqueline Bisset -  to the San Regis.

Major renovation works were undertaken to breath life back into the site.

Having chosen the decorator Pierre-Yves Rochon, who later became the decorator of the George V, the Georges family wanted each of its 44 rooms to be designed like a piece unique.

Particularly spacious and well-built, the rooms and suites were fitted around a collection of period furniture, which few Paris hotels can boast of. The fabrics all originate from great manufacturers, and decline, shade after shade, an elegant spectrum of colors, from golden, sepia and blue to red.

Within this classical scheme, which takes into account all of the necessities of modern comfort, each client is apt to find a color which suits them.

The 2nd floor rooms benefit from nice dimensions and well-emphasized wood panelling.

On the last floor, the attic rooms sometimes include a terrace from which one can view the Eiffel Tower and the Grand Palais, so close by that one has the impression of being able to touch its sprawling glass ceiling.

A rare aspect among hotels of the Golden Triangle: a feeling of warmth and simplicity reigns among the British-inspired lounges and the small restaurant hall, dressed like a library, where traditional food is served, using the best products. Elegant hospitality without the aggression of being overly formal, discreet but attentive service.

An example? The hotel has refused the modern trend of magnetic room-keys, to retain the pleasure of greeting their clients, at least once a day, when they drop off the keys at the reception. Jean-Francois, the concierge who has been working there for many years appreciates this: most clients become regulars and sollicit his advice when searching for the perfect restaurant.

 

The clientele

Reserved for connoisseurs and all those who wish to take in the charm of a great, classical residency, the San Regis simultaneoulsy offers privacy, intimacy, warmth and luxury. Only two minutes on foot from Avenue Montaigne, the Champs-Elysees and Concorde.

It is a rare find which enjoys continued success among its elegant, international clientele.

 

 

Starting at 330€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 9 Rating : 9
Room amenities 9 Rating : 9
Breakfast 9 Rating : 9
Property amenities 8.5 Rating : 8.5
Global Rating 9 Global Rating : 9

Contacts & booking

Hôtel San Regis

12, rue Jean Goujon
75008

Metro station : Champs-Elysées Clémenceau

Hôtel San Regis

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

L'élégance et la discrétion d'un hôtel particulier

Si les cheminées de l'hôtel particulier construit en 1857 pour Monsieur Edmond Petit ont cessé de crépiter depuis longtemps, le San Regis, boutique hôtel aux allures d'un petit palace de charme, situé dans une rue paisible entre les Champs-Elysées et la Seine, continue, lui, à dégager une intimité chaleureuse et discrète.

Devenu hôtel en 1923 sous l'impulsion du légendaire André Terrail, le fondateur du George V, cette atmosphère a été savamment recrée par la famille Georges, propriétaire des lieux depuis les années 80.

Grand amateur d'art, Elie Georges, se porte acquéreur en 1984 d'un hôtel défraîchi, dont les heures de gloire remontent aux années 50, lorsque André Terrail vendit le George V et récupéra pour le San Régis, ses plus beaux meubles et ses meilleurs clients, y compris Lauren Bacall, Romy Schneider, Gene Kelly ou encore Jacqueline Bisset.

S'engagent alors d'importants travaux pour faire renaître un lieu qui sera la rencontre d'une famille, d'une vision de l'hospitalité et d'un décorateur.

Choisissant le décorateur Pierre-Yves Rochon, qui par la suite deviendra le décorateur du George V, la famille Georges a souhaité que chacune des 44 chambres de son établissement soit conçue comme une pièce unique.

Particulièrement spacieuses et bien construites, les chambres et suites ont été dessinées autour d'une collection de meubles d'époque comme seuls quelques rares hôtels en comptent à Paris. Les tissus proviennent tous de grandes maisons et déclinent ton sur ton une élégante unité de couleurs, quelles soient dorées, sépias ou encore bleues et rouges. Dans un classicisme prenant en compte toutes les nécessité du confort moderne, chaque client est ainsi sensé trouver une couleur qui lui convient.   

Les chambres des premiers étages bénéficient de beaux volumes et de panneaux de bois bien mis en valeur. Celles des derniers étages sont mansardées, et certaines possèdent même une terrasse avec vue sur la Tour Eiffel et le Grand Palais, dont la proximité nous donne l'impression de pouvoir toucher son étonnante verrière.

Chose rare dans les établissements du triangle d'or : à travers les salons au confort presque anglais et aux boiseries historiques, à travers la petite salle de restaurant où l'on sert une cuisine traditionnelle et très gourmande, sans la recherche d'exploits gastronomiques mais avec de très bons produits, règne un esprit chaleureux et simple, une hospitalité très élégante mais sans assaut de formalisme, un service discret mais présent.

Un exemple ? L'établissement a refusé le modernisme des clés magnétiques pour avoir le plaisir de croiser au moins une fois par jour ses clients lorsqu'ils vont remettre leur trousseau de clés à la réception. Et ce n'est pas Jean-François, le concierge présent dans l'établissement depuis de nombreuses années, qui va s'en plaindre : la plupart des clients deviennent des fidèles de la maison et lui permettent d'exercer ses talents de limier à la recherche du restaurant parfait. 

 

Pour qui ?

Réservé aux connaisseurs et à tous ceux qui souhaitent retrouver les charmes d'une grande demeure classique, le San Régis offre une option à la fois discrète, intimiste, gourmande, chaleureuse et d'un luxe évident, à seulement deux pas de l'avenue Montaigne, des Champs-Elysées et de la Concorde.

En cela, il est une petite perle rare qui connaît un succès jamais démenti auprès d'une élégante clientèle internationale.

 

À partir de 330€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 9 Confort : 9
Confort Chambres 9 Confort : 9
Petit-Déjeuner 9 Confort : 9
Infrastructure & Services 8.5 Confort : 8.5
Confort Global 9 Confort Global : 9

Contacts & Réservation

Hôtel San Regis

12, rue Jean Goujon
75008

Station de Métro : Champs-Elysées Clémenceau