Olissippo Lapa Palace

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Far from the Worries of this World

The former palace of the Count de Valenças, towering over a green hill overlooking Lisbon, the Lapa Palace was converted into a hotel by a Portuguese family in the beginning of the 1990s.  Acquired in 1998 by the Orient Express chain, the establishment, which has been regularly renovated since, is a reference when it comes to Lisbon luxury given its modern style imbued with history, radiant and discreet, established and orderly.

On either side of the large lobby, where a certain chic opulence makes the 80s come to mind, an abundant amount of pink stretches from the superb marble marquetry on the floor to the wide cavities of the box-beam ceilings.  The Lapa Palace extends over two modern sections that overhang its gardens and pool.  Its treasures are nestled throughout its buildings and include a spa, run in partnership with the Swiss company La Prairie, an indoor pool, massage and relaxation rooms, a hairdresser and a luxury products boutique.

The "Cipriani" restaurant can be found at the heart of the historic building, its recently redone seating area overhanging the gardens and its kitchen doing much justice to the Italian cuisine served there.  Next to it, the "Rio Tejo" bar has lounge areas and overlooks a terrace that has been planted with trees.

Particularly spacious, its 109 rooms and suites are spread out over the three sections of the establishment.  Although the decoration of the rooms may sometimes appear conventional, despite their different styles, they always display a certain taste, luxurious materials and an eye for detail and comfort.

Each one has a private bathroom decorated with azulejos and a balcony that gives clients an opportunity to appreciate the flowing waters of the fountain between the buildings, and the luxurious gardens where the trees stand tall and the outdoor pool.  One room even has a private tower, offering a panoramic view.  It is possible to dine there intimately for a more than romantic evening.

Located in a small residential street close to the National Museum of Art, the Lapa Palace straddles the heart of the city and historic and touristy neighborhood of Belem.  Although you need a taxi to get around, the rides are short as the remoteness of the hotel is strictly relative.

 

The clientele

The hotel welcomes a chic, local and international clientele made up of important people and politicians of all ages and styles that come as much for business as for pleasure.  The Lapa Palace makes an effort to adapt to all tastes and demands with one exception:  the stubborn, who in any case, wouldn't feel at ease in an internationally-styled palace of which the luxury and elegance would sometimes seem a little too slick or a bit too kitsch.

 

 

Starting at 355€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 10 Global Rating : 10

Contacts & booking

Olissippo Lapa Palace

Rua do Pau de Bandeira, 4
1249-021

Olissippo Lapa Palace

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Au delà des soucis de ce monde

Ancien palais du Comte de Valenças, dominant une colline de verdure ouverte sur Lisbonne, le Lapa Palace fut converti en hôtel par une famille portugaise au début des années 90. Acquis en 1998 par la chaîne Orient Express, l'établissement, régulièrement rénové depuis, constitue une référence en matière de luxe pour la ville, avec son style moderne mais empreint d'histoire, à la fois éclatant et discret, établi et policé.

De part et d'autre de son large lobby, un brin années 80, où le rose domine, de la superbe marqueterie de marbre s'étendant au sol aux larges alvéoles du plafond à caissons, le Lapa Palace étend deux sections modernes qui surplombent ses jardins et piscine. Au fil de ses bâtiments, se nichent tous ses trésors : son centre de SPA, assuré en partenariat avec la société suisse La Prairie, sa piscine intérieure, ses salles de massage et de relaxation, son coiffeur et sa boutique d'accessoires de luxe.

Au cœur du bâtiment historique, on trouve le restaurant « Cipriani » dont la salle récemment refaite surplombe les jardins et fait honneur à la gastronomie italienne que l'on y sert. Adjacent, le bar « Rio Tejo » offre ses salons et s'ouvre sur une terrasse arborée.

Particulièrement spacieuses, ses 109 chambres et suites s'étendent sur les trois sections de l'établissement. Si la décoration des chambres peut parfois paraître convenue, malgré leurs différents styles, elles affichent cependant toujours un goût très sûr, des matériaux luxueux ainsi qu'un sens des détails et du confort.

Toutes disposent de salles de bains décorées d'azulejos et d'un balcon permettant d'apprécier l'immense fontaine s'écoulant entre les bâtiments, les jardins luxuriants d'où se dressent de grands arbres et la piscine extérieure de l'hôtel. Une chambre possède même une tour privative, offrant une vue panoramique. Il est possible d'y dîner en tête à tête pour une soirée plus que romantique.

Situé dans une petite rue résidentielle à proximité du Musée des Arts Nationaux, le Lapa Palace se tient entre le coeur de la ville et le quartier historico-touristique de Belem. Si les déplacements nécessitent un taxi, les courses sont courtes car l'éloignement de l'hôtel reste tout relatif. 

Pour qui ?

Accueillant une clientèle chic, locale et internationale, faite de personnalités et d'hommes politiques, de tous âges et de tous styles, venant aussi bien pour affaires que pour loisirs, le Lapa Palace tache de s'adapter à tous les goûts et à toutes les exigences. A l'exception finalement d'une seule : celle des irréductibles, qui de toute façon, ne sentent pas à l'aise dans un palace au format international dont le luxe et l'élégance leur paraîtra parfois un peu trop lisse ou un peu trop kitsch.

 

À partir de 355€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 10 Confort Global : 10

Contacts & Réservation

Olissippo Lapa Palace

Rua do Pau de Bandeira, 4
1249-021