Hotel du Chat Noir

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Tom Cats and Queens !

Inspired by his success at Bastille with the Hotel Standard Design, Jean-Marc Galabert, one of Paris' major hoteliers, who constructed his success by providing intelligent mid-range hotels, triumphed again in early 2008 by opening the Chat Noir Design at the foot of the Montmartre hill.

Galabert has repeated the formula he used at Bastille: a popular, lively, up and coming location which does not yet have any nice, stylish and unpretentious hotels at its disposal.

Situated on a long boulevard between Blanche and Pigalle, the Chat Noir Design's location is a smart bet.

Placed next to the Museum of Eroticism, occupying the upper levels of the concert and lecture hall le Chat Noir (modern heir to the mythical Belle Époque cabaret - only the name now remains), surrounded by strip-tease clubs and sex shops, one could perhaps dream of a better location.

Finally, all these neon-lit nightclubs who had their hours of glory in the 1980s are slowly aging and nowadays simply feature on the programme of unimaginative tour operators who pour in drones of coaches full of disconcerted (or not!) tourists to see the lacklustre spectacle of ‘Magic Paris'. The ‘wilted flower' aspect of the area does of course remain, but only urban poets will appreciate this.

However, a stones throw away from the metro station Blanche, and a stone and a half's throw away from the rue Lepic (with its lively bourgeois-bohemian market à la Amélie Poulain), two stone throws way from the famous Moulin Rouge which certainly deserves a visit, and four stone throws away from various fashionable ‘electro' nightclubs, the Chat Noir Design deserves attention to be paid to its location.

If one doesn't know it, the entrance to the hotel is rather surprising due to its narrowness: it's a reception/corridor looking onto the street. The pleasant Breakfast Room, situated on the first floor, is white, black and red, and has the iconic cat present everywhere.

Over eight floors the hotel offers 39 efficient rooms, of reasonable size, pretty, and in the tone of the moment: black carpet/white walls - overstitched white quilt/red tones from here to there, whether this be curtains or acrylic gloss furniture.

The comfort is simple but the quality of the coating and the materials is good. The only obvious little worry: the white walls remain rather fragile.

The benefits primarily include a flat screen television and free wireless, otherwise there is no mini bar or office in the bedrooms, only a small table and drinks are available at reception.

The rooms come in two types: Standard and Deluxe and it is only really in size that they vary.

Despite the double glazing, the rooms on the first floor are understandably noisier than those higher up. It is also worth noting that the top floors looking onto the street can have a good view of Paris, and the Eiffel Tower.

Regarding service, breakfast can be served in the bedroom.

Although the hotel has no bar or lounge, plenty can be found in the area.

To summarise, this is a practical hotel, nice, stylish and well suited to independent travellers.

 

Starting at 134€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 6 Global Rating : 6

Contacts & booking

Hotel du Chat Noir

68, boulevard de Clichy
75018

Metro station : Blanche

Hotel du Chat Noir

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Félins - félines

Inspiré par le succès du Standard Design Hotel à Bastille, Jean-Marc Galabert, un des grands hôteliers de Paris qui a construit sa réussite grâce à une hôtellerie moyenne gamme intelligente, récidive début 2008 en ouvrant, au pied de la Butte Montmartre, le Chat Noir Design Hôtel.

Même recette qu'à la Bastille : un emplacement populaire & festif, dans un quartier en transformation mais n'ayant pas encore à sa disposition d'hôtels designs, sympathiques et sans prétention.

Situé entre Blanche et Pigalle, le long du boulevard, l'emplacement du Chat Noir Design Hôtel est un pari judicieux.

Accolé au Musée de l'Erotisme, occupant les étages supérieurs du confé-concert le Chat Noir (héritier moderne du mythique cabaret de la Belle Epoque - dont il ne reste rien que le nom), entouré de boîtes à strip-tease et de sex-shops, on pourrait a priori rêver mieux comme emplacement.

Au final, toutes ces boîtes à néons qui ont fait les heures de gloire du Pigalle des années 80 vieillissent peu à peu et ne sont plus guère qu'au programme de tours opérateurs qui n'ont comme seule imagination celle de faire déferler des vagues de cars remplis de touristes consternés (ou pas !) devant le spectacle bien terne du "Magic Paris". Reste bien-sûr le côté fleur fané que seuls les poètes urbains apprécieront.

Cependant, placé à deux pas de la station de métro Blanche, à deux pas et demi de la rue Lepic (avec son marché vivant, boboifié et amélie-poulainifié), à trois pas du célèbre Moulin Rouge qui mérite bien une visite, et à quatre pas de diverses boîtes de nuits électro & tendance, le Chat Noir Design Hôtel mérite que l'on considère son emplacement avec attention.

Si on ne le sait pas, l'entrée de l'hôtel surprend un peu par son étroitesse : il s'agit d'une réception-couloir donnant sur le boulevard. Au premier étage de l'immeuble, la salle de petits déjeuners, agréable, en blanc, noir et rouge, et avec l'icône du chat noir présente partout.

Dans les étages (jusqu'au 8ème), l'hôtel offre 39 chambres efficaces, de taille raisonnable, joliettes et dans le ton du moment : moquette noire / murs blancs - couette surpiquée blanche / notes rouges deci-delà, qu'il s'agisse des rideaux ou des meubles en daquacryl.

Le confort est simple mais la qualité des finitions et des matériaux est bonne. Seul petit souci sans doute : les murs blancs sont toujours un peu fragiles.

Les prestations se concentrent sur la télévision à écran plat et le wifi gratuit, sinon point de mini-bar ni de bureaux dans les chambres, seulement une tablette et des boissons disponibles à la récetion.

Les chambres sont de deux types : les standards et les deluxes, que seule la taille différencie vraiment.

Malgré le double vitrage, les chambres des premiers étages seront naturellement plus bruyantes que celles des étages élevées. A noter que celles des derniers étages donnant sur le boulevard peuvent offrir des vues sur Paris (et sur la Tour Eiffel !).

Côté service, le petit déjeuner peut être servit en chambre.

Et si l'hôtel ne dispose ni de bars ni de lounge, le quartier regorge de possibles.

Bref, un hôtel pratique, sympathique, design et bien tenu pour voyageurs indépendants.

 

À partir de 134€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 6 Confort Global : 6

Contacts & Réservation

Hotel du Chat Noir

68, boulevard de Clichy
75018

Station de Métro : Blanche