Palacio Belmonte

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Time Reconstructed

More like a palace refined by time than a hotel in the strict sense of the word, the Palacio Belmonte is a product of folly: the desire to revive an old Portuguese residence overhanging both Lisbon and the Tagus River, all the while keeping its soul intact.

The antique palace is the fruit of the considerable investments of Marie and Frédéric Coustols, both French, and the work of Portuguese architect Pedro Quirino da Fonseca.  Located a few steps away from the Castelo de Sao Jorge (Saint George Castle), it opened its doors to travelers in 2003.  With part of the edifice dating from 1449, with elements that are no doubt even older, its 30,000 azulejos remind us that it came out of the 1755 earthquake on its feet.

The palace's 10 suites are spacious at between 30 and 130m2, and - with no television and the old walls providing natural air conditioning - are a far cry from what one would call modern.  Concerned with offering an uncluttered, welcoming and familiar atmosphere, the rooms are eclectically furnished with the owners' own finds.

In addition to service that is equally simple, with its bougainvillea and lemon trees, balconies and a tiny black marble pool, the Palacio Belmonte offers panoramic view after view of the city's rooftops and the Tagus River.

 

The clientele

Remarkable and discreet with a personality all its own, the Palacio Belmonte is ideal for travelers who know how to appreciate their surroundings.

 

Starting at 450€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 8.5 Global Rating : 8.5

Contacts & booking

Palacio Belmonte

Páteo Dom Fradique, 14
1100 - 624

Palacio Belmonte

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Le temps recomposé

Davantage palais patiné par les ans qu'hôtel au sens strict du terme, le Palacio Belmonte est né d'une folie : faire revivre, en lui conservant toute son âme, une vieille demeure portugaise surplombant Lisbonne et le Tage.

Fruit des importants investissements de Marie et Frédéric Coustols, un couple de français, et du travail de l'architecte portugais Pedro Quirino da Fonseca, l'antique palais, situé à quelques pas du Château Saint George, a pu ouvrir ses portes aux voyageurs en 2003. Bâtiment datant en partie de 1449, avec des éléments sans doute encore plus anciens, ses 30 mille azulejos rappellent qu'il a su traverser le terrible tremblement de terre de 1755 tout en restant debout.

Spacieuses, les 10 suites du palais disposent de 30m2 à 130m2, et restent eloignées des considérations modernes - sans télévision et utilisant une climatisation naturelle grâce aux vieilles murailles de la bâtisse. Soucieux d'une décoration dépouillée, chaleureuse et familière, les chambres égrenent un éclectique mobilier provenant des trouvailles des propriétaires.

En plus d'un service également dépouillé, de ses bougainvilliers, citronniers, terrasses et de sa petite piscine en marbre noir, le Palacio Belmonte offre d'interminables vues panoramiques sur les toits de la ville et le Tage.

 

Pour qui ?

Etonnant et discret, avec une personnalité atypique, le Palacio Belmonte s'adresse à des voyageurs qui savent avant tout apprécier les atmosphères.

 

À partir de 450€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 8.5 Confort Global : 8.5

Contacts & Réservation

Palacio Belmonte

Páteo Dom Fradique, 14
1100 - 624