Pestana Palace

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Dreams of Grandeur

There is one thing that men are always happy to share: their dreams, especially those life-sized dreams that reward a lifetime of work.

Jose Luis Constantino, a small cocoa planter from Sao Tomé who became one of the most important figures in the Portuguese colonies and rose to the rank of Marquis of Valle Flor thanks to his successes and friendship with the king, accomplished a life's dream in building one of the most ostentatious and majestic palaces in Lisbon at the beginning of the 20th century.

On Belem road, a little ways away from the center of the city, atop a garden-covered hillock and the seat of a very beautiful view of the Tagus River and the bridge that straddles it, the Palace of the Marquis of Valle Flor, as often is the case of that period in history, is an exalted monument of all the best history has to offer.

With its Renaissance, Louis XV and Japanese Rooms, pieces of the Napoleonic Empire, fine gildings and stained-glass windows, impeccable marquetry parquet and ceilings painted by Carlos Reis, the list of masterpieces gathered here is infinite.

As such, when the palace was neglected, restoring it became a thorny issue that worsened with each passing year.

It was only in 1990 that Dr Dionisio Pestana, head of the leading Portuguese hotelier group, decided to bear the torch and bring the Marquis' astonishing abode back to life.

It took ten years, three of which were for renovation works, for the splendours of the past to be carefully and remarkably restored by the hands of artisans come from all over Europe.

Besides its historical aspect, the Pestana Palace is also a luxury hotel that counts 173 rooms with gardens, reception halls, indoor and outdoor pools, a wellness center, the "Allegro" piano bar and a sumptuous gourmet restaurant called the "Valle Flor".

Two wings were added behind the palace, framing the gardens and grouping together all the rooms, save four historical suites.  Traditionally luxurious with a modern twist on the finer aspects, the rooms are solidly comfortable, the upper ones even more appealing than the standard rooms because of their view of the gardens.

But more than just the decoration of a room, residing at the Pestana Palace is to let oneself be taken in by the dreams of grandeur that once passed through it, to lose oneself in the tropical-style gardens, to take advantage of the pool while the children are at the daycare center or to have a light lunch at the "Casa do Lago", an Japanese-style pavilion overlooking the pool.

 

The clientele

Friendly and hospitable, the Pestana Palace attracts an international clientele that is varied, rather chic and informal.  From models to young couples in love, from families to elderly American ladies curious about Europe, from businessmen to artists, all are curious to discover the splendors restored from a time full of extravagance and whimsy.

 

Starting at 180€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 9 Global Rating : 9

Contacts & booking

Pestana Palace

Rua Jau, 54
1300-314

Pestana Palace

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Rêves de grandeur

Il y a une chose que les hommes sont toujours heureux de partager, ce sont leurs rêves, surtout s'ils s'expriment avec grandeur et qu'ils récompensent une vie d'effort.

Petit planteur de cacao de Sao Tomé devenu un des personnages les plus importants des colonies portugaises, Jose Luis Constantino, élevé au rang de Marquis de Valle Flôr grâce à ses succès et à son amitié avec le roi, accomplit le rêve d'une vie en bâtissant un des palais les plus ostentatoires et les plus solennels de Lisbonne au début du XXème siècle.

Sur la route de Belem, un peu à l'écart du centre ville, en haut d'une butte couverte de jardins et offrant une très belle vue sur le Tage et le pont qui l'enjambe, le Palais du Marquis de Valle Flôr, comme souvent à cette époque, s'est enivré de tout ce que l'histoire avait fait de mieux.

Salon Renaissance, Salon Louis XV, Salon Japonais, éléments Empire, fines dorures et vitraux, parquets à la marqueterie impeccable et plafonds peints par Carlos Reis, la liste des chefs d'œuvres assemblés est innombrable.

Aussi, quand le palais fut laissé à l'abandon, la question de sa restauration devint chaque année plus épineuse.

C'est seulement en 1990 que le Dr Dionisio Pestana, à la tête du premier groupe hôtelier portugais, décida de reprendre le flambeau et de faire revivre l'étonnante demeure de Monsieur le Marquis.

Il aura fallu attendre dix ans, dont trois ans de travaux, pour que les splendeurs passée soient restaurées avec un soin et une qualité absolument remarquables, faisant intervenir des artisans en provenance de toute l'Europe.

Au-delà du cœur historique du projet, le Pestana Palace est également un hôtel de luxe de 173 chambres, avec jardins, salles de réception, piscines intérieure et extérieure, centre de bien-être, un piano bar "Allegro" et un restaurant gastronomique somptueux, "Valle Flôr".

A l'arrière du palais, deux ailes à l'architecture moderne ont été construites, encadrant les jardins et regroupant ainsi toutes les chambres, à l'exception des quatre suites historiques. D'un luxe classique et d'une facture moderne, les chambres sont d'un confort solide, les supérieures séduisant davantage que les standards, grâce à leur vue sur les jardins.

Mais plus que la décoration d'une chambre, résider au Pestana Palace, c'est se laisser prendre au jeu des rêves de grandeur qui l'ont traversé, c'est se perdre dans ses jardins aux allures tropicales, profiter de la piscine pendant que les enfants sont à la garderie ou d'un déjeuner léger à la "Casa do Lago", pavillon japonisant en surplomb de la piscine.

Pour qui ?

Ouvert et accueillant, le Pestana Palace séduit une clientèle internationale, variée, plutôt chic et informelle. Des mannequins au jeunes couples en romance, des familles aux vieilles dames américaines curieuses de l'Europe, des hommes d'affaire aux artistes, tous sont curieux de découvrir les splendeurs restaurées d'un temps plein d'une certaine folie.

 

À partir de 180€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 9 Confort Global : 9

Contacts & Réservation

Pestana Palace

Rua Jau, 54
1300-314