Le Quartier Hotel - Bercy Square

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Zen Gardens

If the meaning of Zen is "oblivious to the world's agitation", then it perfectly describes the Quartier Bercy Hotel.

And for good reason - strictly speaking, the hotel doesn't even have an entrance on the street. It is serenely withdrawn from the turmoil of Boulevard de Reuilly, its gardens and annexes inhabiting part of a residential building.

You could easily stroll absent-mindedly down the wide footpaths of the boulevard and -woops! - continue on your way without even detecting the Quartier Bercy.

Because, squeezed between a manicure institute and a local café, you are obliged to lift your gaze to notice its sign (before it is obscured by a balcony) and then at last discover a courtyard with a lovely garden - an Eden of flourishing leaves, with tiny hillocks and an air of tender green naiveté.

The hotel, up the garden path, welcomes its visitors heartily, like a 19th century manor with its solid appearance and its porch overlooking the wild undergrowth.

The building is history in a bottle, so to speak: once the residence of a bourgeois wine dealer, it was for a long time a small furnished hotel, hôtel en meublé in the vernacular of the time.

That is, until its revamping in October 2008.

But before this renovation, it took one year of planning and reconstruction to create a 57 room hotel, exactly as the same team behind the Général Hotel near République know how to do it.

And they achieved their goal, that is to say an uncomplicated, handsome, and comfortable dwelling with reasonable prices and a pleasant decor at once light-hearted and a shade glamorous, totally in tune with its time.

The interior designer Pascale Douillard has made use of a great deal intelligence to produce, right from the entranceway, an open and breathing space.

Indeed, as soon as you push the front door open, and are subject to a friendly welcome from the two cardboard cut-out Labradors which guard the entrance, you find yourself in a large salon-bar, enlivened by exotic wood flooring, bright wallpaper and Starck & Kartell seating, where you immediately feel content.

Reception is a counter placed discreetly to the right, and from the doorway you can see through to the rear of the building: a beautiful veranda, high and white, with a view over, surprise, surprise, a second garden-courtyard, enclosed by "the villa", that is to say the hotel's small annexe.

As has already been said, everything flows, everything breathes.

The bar is open until two in the morning. Breakfasts are taken facing the garden (a rarity in Paris!), under the veranda in an area perhaps a tad too white, but in any case very fresh.

And the rooms?

If they all possess the same furnishings, the size of the rooms varies according to their category: three-quarters of the rooms are "classic", and the rest "privilege". There is also one suite and three "cosy" rooms.

The "classic" rooms are quite compact, but are agreeably disposed and ultimately acceptable for short stays. In these rooms, the desk relinquishes its place to a small angled shelf and the bathrooms are equipped with a shower.

The "cosy" rooms are slightly larger. They offer their visitors a bathtub and are situated in the annexe.

The "privilege" rooms on the other hand are of a really good size for this level of accommodation. They have a little corner dedicated to relaxation with a table and two comfy chairs. Luminous thanks to their two windows, they too contain a bathroom tub.

The suite is also located in the annexe. Nicely proportioned, but a little lacking in light, it possesses a nice sized bedroom and a lovely living room with convertible sofa. If it is ideal for 3 people, it isn't a bad deal for 2 either!

On the design side of things, despite the ultra-clean lines and charming simplicity, the rooms have a pleasing allure not lacking in glamour. The carpet, with its red rose print, undoubtedly has something to do with this! Otherwise white is the dominant colour: the indented wallpaper, the imitation crocodile bed-heads, the bedside tables are all of candid snowiness, with the exception of one wall papered in greyish-green to give the room some depth.

The trappings are rather decent: a flat screen TV with a multitude of channels, the necessary coffee & tea, air conditioning, trunk and luggage holders. On the other hand, the absence of a mini-bar will allow you to fully take advantage of the hotel bar or room service.

And of course, it almost goes without saying, but due to the hotel's configuration away from the street, the rooms are very quiet!

Breakfast presents both hot and cold choices, with a fine selection of mini-pastries and fruit salads alongside the classic jams, yoghurt and fruit.

Last but not least, the service. The hotel personnel seem highly enthused by this new adventure and do everything possible to satisfy their clients.

A word of warning however - be careful not to rush out too fast onto the street on a Tuesday or Friday morning, lest you trip over an oyster bed: market days make no concession, and all the exuberance of the area is laid out right at the foot of the hotel (and thus creating an occasion that is not to be missed!).

 

Starting at 95€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 6 Rating : 6
Room amenities 6.5 Rating : 6.5
Breakfast 7 Rating : 7
Property amenities 7 Rating : 7
Global Rating 6.5 Global Rating : 6.5

Contacts & booking

Le Quartier Hotel - Bercy Square

33, boulevard de Reuilly
75012

Metro station : Daumesnil - Dugommier

Le Quartier Hotel - Bercy Square

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Jardins Zen

Si le qualificatif « zen » signifie « indifférent à l'agitation du monde »,  alors il s'applique avec beaucoup de justesse à l'hôtel Quartier Bercy.

Et pour cause, l'hôtel n'a pas, au sens physique du terme, pignon sur rue. Il s'est tranquillement retiré de l'agitation du boulevard de Reuilly pour investir, avec ses jardins et ses annexes, la profonde arrière-cour d'un immeuble d'habitation.

Vous flânez le long des larges chaussées du boulevard, vous ne faites pas attention, et hop, vous passez votre chemin sans même avoir repéré l'hôtel Quartier Bercy.

Car coincé entre un institut de manucure et un petit café de quartier, il faut lever la tête pour apercevoir son enseigne, avant de s'engouffrer sous le porche d'un immeuble, pour enfin découvrir une cour peuplée d'un adorable jardin, parfaitement moussu et feuillu, avec ses petits talus et sa naïveté toute verte.

L'hôtel, en haut du jardinet, accueille ses voyageurs à pleine brassée, comme une maison du 19ème siècle, avec son air solide et son perron surplombant les herbes folles.

C'est que le bâtiment a de la bouteille : ancienne demeure bourgeoise d'un négociant en vins, il fut pendant longtemps un petit hôtel en meublé, comme on disait à l'époque.

Jusqu'à sa renaissance en octobre 2008.

Mais avant cette renaissance, il a fallu un an de plans et de travaux pour créer un hôtel de 57 chambres, comme sait si bien les faire l'équipe à l'origine du Général Hôtel à République.

Cela donne ce qui était prévu, c'est-à-dire un endroit simple, beau, confortable, à prix corrects et avec une agréable déco, à la fois légère et un brin glamour, totalement dans l'air du temps.

La décoratrice Pascale Douillard a œuvré avec beaucoup d'intelligence pour créer, dès l'entrée, un espace ouvert et respirant.

C'est vrai, car lorsqu'on pousse la porte de l'hôtel, à part l'accueil clin d'œil réalisé par les deux labradors en découpe de carton ponctuant l'entrée, on arrive dans un large salon-bar, tout en parquet exotique, en banquettes blanches, en papiers peints, en chaises et fauteuils Starck et Kartell, où l'on sent tout de suite bien.

La réception est un pupitre légèrement en retrait sur la droite, et de l'entrée on aperçoit l'arrière du bâtiment : une très belle véranda, haute et blanche, donnant, ô surprise !, sur une deuxième petite cour-jardin, fermée par « la villa », c'est-à-dire la petite annexe de l'hôtel.

Bref, c'est ce qu'on disait : tout circule, tout respire.

Le bar fonctionne jusqu'à deux heures du matin. Les petits déjeuners se prennent face au jardin (une rareté à Paris !), sous la véranda, dans un espace un peu trop blanc peut-être, mais tellement frais.

Et les chambres ?

Si toutes possèdent la même décoration, la taille des chambres varie en fonction de leur catégories : les trois quarts sont des « classiques », et le reste, des « privilèges ». A cela s'ajoute une suite et trois chambres « cosy ».

Les « classiques » sont vraiment compactes mais bien agencées et somme toute agréables pour de courts séjours. Dans ces chambres, le bureau cède la place à une petite tablette d'angle et les salles de bains sont équipées d'une douche.

Les « cosys » sont un brin plus grandes, bénéficient d'une baignoire et sont situées dans l'annexe.

Les « privilèges » sont par contre d'une taille vraiment très agréable pour cette catégorie d'hôtel. Elles sont équipées d'un petit coin relaxation avec une table et deux fauteuils. Lumineuses grâce à leurs deux fenêtres, elles bénéficient par ailleurs également d'une baignoire.

Quant à la suite, elle est située dans l'annexe. Bien proportionnée, mais manquant peut-être un peu de lumière, elle possède une chambre de taille correcte et un beau salon avec canapé transformable. Si pour 3 personnes c'est idéal, pour 2 c'est pas mal non plus !

Côté design, malgré les lignes épurées et leur charmante simplicité, les chambres possèdent une sympathique allure qui ne manque pas de glamour. La moquette, imprimée de roses rouges, y est sans doute pour quelque chose ! Pour le reste le blanc domine : papiers peints tramés, tête de lit façon croco et tables de nuit sont d'une candide blancheur, à l'exception bien sûr, d'un mur au papier peint couleur vert de gris, choisi ainsi pour donner un peu de profondeur.

Côté équipement, c'est bien : téléviseur écran plat avec une multitude chaîne, nécessaire thé-café, climatisation, coffre et porte bagage. Par contre, l'absence de mini-bar vous permettra pleinement de profiter du bar de l'hôtel ou de demander vos boissons à la réception.

Et bien sûr, faut-il le souligner, mais compte tenu de la configuration de l'hôtel, les chambres sont calmes !

Les petits déjeuners proposent à la fois du chaud et du froid, une bonne sélection de mini-viennoiseries, des salades de fruits et les classiques confitures, laitages, et fruits.

Et enfin côté service, le personnel de l'hôtel semble très enthousiaste de cette nouvelle aventure et fait tout son possible pour satisfaire ses clients.

Par contre, faites attention à ne pas sortir de l'hôtel en courant ni le mardi matin, ni le vendredi matin. Sinon, il est probable que vous trébuchiez sur un banc d'huître : les jours de marché ne pardonnent pas, c'est tout une vie de quartier qui s'étale aux pieds de l'hôtel (à ne rater sous aucun prétexte donc !).

 

À partir de 95€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 6 Confort : 6
Confort Chambres 6.5 Confort : 6.5
Petit-Déjeuner 7 Confort : 7
Infrastructure & Services 7 Confort : 7
Confort Global 6.5 Confort Global : 6.5

Contacts & Réservation

Le Quartier Hotel - Bercy Square

33, boulevard de Reuilly
75012

Station de Métro : Daumesnil - Dugommier