Hotel Raphael

Summary

Guided tour

Location

Services & Prices

Entrance
The hotel entrance is simply bursting with greenery, from the plane trees of the beautiful terrace of the neighbouring restaurant, the torrent of creepers cascading down the façade to the small palm trees lining the short canopied hotel entrance; such an unexpected oasis in the heart of the city. The doors open onto the large open plan lounges which lead to the reception desk and access to the floors on the right and, to the left, a lounge library and the breakfast room.

White walls, modern lighting, tiles with miniscule fragments of grey marble, the soft forms of the velvet sofas, shades of brown and rust, many works of arts, paintings, sculptures and the impressive twisted details of the baroque furniture create an atmosphere which successfully combines formality and exuberance with restraint and conviviality. A chessboard is set out on one table, magazines on another, guests relax with a coffee, all in vibrant surroundings where there is a place for everyone and everything.

The rooms
The rooms upstairs are very different, depending on when they were renovated.

The first, refurbished early 1995, have a cosy, classic charm. The décor incorporates carpets in shades of burgundy or green, painted walls in a straw colour, copper light fittings, columns, wood panelling and Renaissance tapestries above the bed. Although well-maintained, particularly the paintwork, these rooms may seem a bit old-fashioned in comparison with the more modern ones.

A second phase of renovation early 2000 created an interesting mix of classic and modern. Parquet flooring, wood panelling and copper light fittings lend a fairly sober, classic feel whilst the very clean lines of the Fendi furniture covered in anthracite and blue striped fabrics, introduce a modern touch to the room.

The architect Richard Meier put his name to a third renovation in 2005, creating an ultra-modern décor with the use of light wood and clear lines, parquet flooring and leather fittings, straw-coloured satin finish paintwork and technology. Although the clear lines and glazed walls may appear a trifle cold at times, when the morning sunshine filters into the room or the soft lighting sets off the warmth of the wood in the evening, the ambiance becomes one of magical softness.

The bathrooms in Meier’s signature rooms rank amongst the nicest in Rome, lined from floor to ceiling in Carrara marble. They have both bath and shower, indeed it is a double shower, and Bose speakers. Another little detail: the wooden partition separating them from the rooms is mobile so you can slide it back to let in more natural light or watch TV from the bathtub. Bulgari bath products are provided in all the rooms.

Each of the two top-floor suites, the Bramante and the Suite con Terrazza, have a beautiful terrace overlooking the cloister next door. These suites were included in the early 2000 renovation and can be combined to create the Presidential Suite which is ideal for a large family. The more classic Navona Suite has a separate living room with fold-down settee and can accommodate families of up to four.

Most rooms have large, flat screen televisions. They all look onto the exterior of the building, some of them over a small, narrower street bordered by the wall of the church next door. Although the streets surrounding the hotel are full of life, the rooms are well soundproofed.

Facilities & Services
Apart from a well-equipped gym, the hotel has a multi-level roof terrace where you can relax in the shade of a large parasol as you enjoy a meal from its gourmet “Relais Picasso” restaurant and the view over the domes and tiled roofs of the city.

Breakfast

A buffet breakfast is served in a lovely ground floor breakfast room. A huge table groans with a multitude of products including salamis, different cheeses, cherry tomatoes and small balls of mozzarella, cakes and pastries, different types of bread, carrot, banana, orange and pear juices, scrambled eggs and bacon, chopped fresh fruit and finally a wide selection of cereals and almonds.

Starting at 350€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 8 Rating : 8
Room amenities 8 Rating : 8
Breakfast 9 Rating : 9
Property amenities 9 Rating : 9
Global Rating 8.5 Global Rating : 8.5

Contacts & booking

Hotel Raphael

Piazza Navona , Largo Febo 2
00186

Metro station : -

Hotel Raphael

En résumé

Visite guidée

Emplacement

Prestations

L'arrivée
L’arrivée à l’hôtel est une bouffée de verdure. Platanes de l’agréable terrasse du restaurant voisin, cataractes de vigne recouvrant la façade, petits palmiers entourant la courte marquise de l’hôtel procurent un sentiment inattendu de fraîcheur au cœur de la ville. Les portes de l’établissement s’ouvrent sur des salons conçus comme un grand espace ouvert, conduisant à droite au comptoir de la réception et à l’accès aux étages, et à gauche, au salon-bibliothèque et à la salle de petit déjeuner.

Murs blancs, éclairages contemporains, carreaux faits de minuscules éclats de marbre gris, canapés de velours aux formes souples, tons bruns et rouille, multitudes d’œuvres d’art, tableaux, sculptures, meubles aux imposantes torsades baroques procurent à cet espace quelque chose tenant à la fois de la rigueur et de l’exubérance, de la retenue et de la convivialité. Un jeu d'échecs est disposé sur une table, des magazines sur une autre, des clients y prennent un café, l’endroit est vivant et chacun y trouve sa place. 

Les chambres
Dans les étages, les chambres sont très différentes en fonction de la vague de rénovation à laquelle elles appartiennent.

Les premières, refaites début 1995, sont d’un classicisme chaleureux. Elles sont décorées de moquettes aux tons bordeaux ou vert, de murs peints sur des tons paille, de lustre en cuivre, de colonnes, de boiseries et de tapisseries Renaissance en tête de lit. Mêmes si elles ont été bien entretenues, notamment les peintures, ces chambres pourront paraître un peu démodées aux plus modernes. 

Une seconde vague de rénovation, réalisée début 2000, a dessiné un intéressant alliage entre classicisme et modernité. Parquets, boiseries, cuivres des luminaires, participent d’un classicisme assez sobre, alors que le mobilier, signé Fendi, aux lignes très pures recouvertes de tissu anthracite aux rayures bleues, donne toute sa modernité à la pièce.

Une troisième vague enfin a été signée en 2005 par l’architecte Richard Meier. Bois blond et lignes nettes, parquet et sellerie de cuir, peintures pailles avec un enduit soyeux et technologie constituent un décor très contemporain. Si la netteté des lignes et le glaçage des murs peuvent parfois paraître un peu froids, quand le soleil du matin pénètre dans la chambre, ou le soir, quand les éclairages  viennent flatter la chaleur du bois, il règne comme une douceur magique dans ces chambres.

Les salles de bains des chambres Meier figurent parmi les plus agréables de Rome. Couvertes de marbre de carrare du sol aux murs, elles bénéficient à la fois d’une baignoire et d’une douche, d’une double douche même, et sont dotées d’enceintes Bose. Détail supplémentaire, la cloison en bois qui les sépare des chambres est mobile : le panneau coulisse pour profiter de la lumière naturelle ou regarder la télévision du fond de son bain. Toutes les chambres bénéficient de produits de bains Bulgari.

Chacune des deux suites du dernier étage, la suite Bramante et la suite con terrazza, rénovées début 2000, disposent d’une belle terrasse surplombant le cloître voisin. Ces deux suites peuvent être réunies pour constituer la Suite Présidentielle, ensemble idéal pour une grande famille. La Suite Navona, de style classique par contre, avec son salon indépendant avec canapé transformable, accueille également des familles jusqu'à quatre personnes. La plupart des chambres sont équipées de grands téléviseurs à écran plat. Toutes donnent sur l’extérieur du bâtiment, dont quelques unes sur une ruelle plus étroite, bordée par le mur de l’église voisine. Même si les ruelles du quartier sont animées, les chambres sont bien insonorisées. 

Infrastructure & Services 
Au-delà d’une salle de sport bien équipée, l’hôtel possède une terrasse sur le toit, découpée en plusieurs niveaux, où il est possible, à l'ombre de grands parasols, de déguster la cuisine de son restaurant gastronomique, le « Relais Picasso », en admirant les coupoles et les toits de tuiles de la ville.

Le petit-déjeuner
Le petit-déjeuner est servi en buffet dans une agréable salle du rez-de-chaussée. Sont disposés sur une grande table une multitude de produits, différentes charcuteries, différents fromages, tomates cerises et petites mozzarelles, gâteaux et pâtisseries, différentes sortes de pain, des jus de carottes, de bananes, d’oranges et de poires, des œufs brouillés et de bacon, fruits frais coupés et enfin un large choix de céréales et d’amandes.

À partir de 350€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 8 Confort : 8
Confort Chambres 8 Confort : 8
Petit-Déjeuner 9 Confort : 9
Infrastructure & Services 9 Confort : 9
Confort Global 8.5 Confort Global : 8.5

Contacts & Réservation

Hotel Raphael

Piazza Navona , Largo Febo 2
00186

Station de Métro : -