Hôtel Ritz Paris

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

The Golden Legend

Founded in 1898 by César Ritz, surrounded by the greatest jewellers and opposite the column of the Place Vendôme, the Paris Ritz is an international legend.

Hemingway made the bar famous, Francis Scott Fitzgerald was electrified by the atmosphere, Proust observed the daily turmoil, and Coco Chanel as well as Sarah Bernard resided there.

The corridors there are never ending, the gardens very exclusive, the service is polite and attentive, the swimming pool is famous for being the largest of all the luxury hotels in Paris, the restaurants are honoured amongst the best in town and the lounges are always cosy.

But as well as being a hotel, the Ritz is above all a meeting place.

César Ritz conceded this to offer a jewellery case to the world's elite, and if the Prince  Mohamed al-Fayed, its current owner, has invested monumental amounts of money there, its in order to restore the prestigious image, and of course, to see the international jet set, who are both demanding and in demand, come back.

Upon stepping into the luxury hotel, the historical imprint is evident. Its facades, designed by the royal architect Mansard in the seventeenth century make up the impressive ensemble of the Place Vendôme, a model of a classical equilibrium.

Always present, the porters consistently welcome the luxurious saloon cars with darkened windows which flow in front of the hotel's arches.

Looking directly onto the hotel's lounges, the entrance is looked after by a hostess who takes pleasure in orientating clients and directing them to the reception, which is situated slightly in the background, at the top of a staircase that appears behind the welcome stand.

With 103 bedrooms, 56 suites and 10 exceptional suites carrying the names of personalities for whom they were conceded, the Paris Ritz offers a large selection of possibilities and atmospheres.

Decorated in a very classical style, the rooms are in the style of Louis XV, with the exception of certain suites which are more ‘Ritz' or Art-Deco. The colours are pale and radiant, ranging from blue, pink and beige.

The woodwork, moulding and gilding is abundant and the numerous tapestries echo the rich fabrics which cover the bed heads or the curtains. The carpets are thick, and although the rooms have recently been redecorated, they conserve their atmosphere, despite the freshness of the paintwork and the latest technology, including wireless Internet, flat screen televisions and Bose CD players.

Looking onto the gardens, on the Place Vendôme or on the rue Cambon, the bedrooms are spacious (more than 30m2 for the premiere categories), although the bathrooms are less so. In pink marble and with incredible plumbing fixtures, they remind us of the taste of Madame Ritz's époque. Certain suites have their own sauna or hot tub.

Amongst the exceptional suites, one should mention the Coco Chanel Suite, with its superb collection of Asian antiques, and the Chopin Suite, overlooking the Place Vendôme and benefiting from a magnificent parquet floor in marquetry.

In terms of communal areas, the luxury hotel has four bars: the Bar Vendôme, a tea room looking on to the gardens; the Bar Hemingway, all wood panelling and whiskies; the Ritz Bar, more glamorous and intimate; and finally the Swimming Pool Bar, between two diving boards.

It is possible to have lunch in certain lounges or to benefit from twenty four hour room service; however l'Espadon, the hotel's gastronomic restaurant, should be visited. With its classical trompe l'oeil decor, its cuisine is the heir of the great chef Escoffier. A reputable cookery school which is also open to amateurs also perpetuates the great man's teaching.

Carried by impeccable service, which requires more than 500 employees, the Paris Ritz continues to keep a tradition of hospitality alive which, although it can seem outdated, still provides a reference.

 

The clientele

Proud of its traditions, the Ritz welcomes an international clientele, inevitably very chic, who knows to appreciate its true value and the respect for certain etiquette, maintained with enthusiasm by a personnel who are themselves very chic.

 

Starting at 610€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 10 Global Rating : 10

Contacts & booking

Hôtel Ritz Paris

15, place Vendôme
75001

Metro station : Opéra

Hôtel Ritz Paris

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

La légende dorée

Fondé en 1898 par César Ritz, entouré des plus grands joailliers et faisant face à la colonne de la place Vendôme, l'Hôtel Ritz Paris est une légende internationale.

Hemingway a rendu son bar célèbre, Francis Scott Fitzgerald s'est laissé électriser par son atmosphère, Proust y observa les remous de la vie mondaine, Coco Chanel ainsi que Sarah Bernard y résidèrent.

Les couloirs y sont interminables, les jardins très exclusifs, le service d'un maintien poli et attentif, la piscine fameuse pour être la plus grande des palaces parisiens, les restaurants récompensés parmi les meilleurs de la ville et les salons toujours feutrés.

Mais plus qu'un hôtel, le Ritz est avant tout un lieu de rencontre.

César Ritz l'avait conçu pour offrir un écrin aux grands de ce monde, et si le prince Mohamed al-Fayed, son actuel propriétaire, y a investit des sommes monumentales, c'est pour en restaurer le lustre, et bien sûr, faire revenir une jet-set internationale, à la fois exigeante et sollicitée.

Dès l'arrivée au pied du palace, l'empreinte historique est évidente. Ses façades, dessinées par l'architecte royal Mansard au XVIIè, font partie de l'impressionnant ensemble, modèle d'équilibre classique, que forme la place Vendôme.

Toujours présents, les bagagistes accueillent les luxueuses berlines aux vitres teintées qui se succèdent tranquillement devant les arches du palace.

Donnant directement sur les salons de l'hôtel, l'entrée est gardée par une hôtesse qui se fait un plaisir d'orienter les clients et de les conduire auprès de la réception, située légèrement en retrait, en haut de la volée de marche qui se dessine derrière le pupitre d'accueil.

Avec 103 chambres, 56 suites et 10 suites d'exception portant les noms des personnalités pour qui elles ont été conçues, le Ritz Paris propose une large palette de possibilités et d'atmosphères.

Décorées de façon très classique, les chambres sont meublées dans le style Louis XV, à l'exception de certaines suites, plus "Ritz" ou art déco. Les couleurs sont pâles et lumineuses, du bleu au rose en passant le beige.

Les boiseries, moulures et dorures ne manquent pas et de nombreuses tapisseries se font l'écho des riches tissus qui ornent les dessus de lit ou les rideaux. Les moquettes sont épaisses, et bien que les chambres aient été refaites récemment, elles conservent leur atmosphère, en dépit de la fraîcheur des peintures et des dernières technologies, qu'il s'agisse de la connexion internet sans fil, des téléviseurs à écran plat ou des lecteurs de CD Bose.

Donnant sur les jardins, sur la place Vendôme ou sur la rue Cambon, les chambres sont spacieuses (+de 30m2 pour les premières catégories), à l'exception notable des salles de bains. En marbre rose et avec une incroyable robinetterie, elles rappellent les goûts d'une époque, celle de Mme Ritz. Certaines suites possèdent leur propre sauna ou des baignoires à remous.

Parmi les suites d'exception, on peut mentionner la Suite Coco Chanel, avec sa superbe collection d'antiquité asiatiques, et la suite Chopin, surplombant la place Vendôme et bénéficiant d'un magnifique parquet en marqueterie.

Côtés espaces communs, le palace propose quatre bars : le Bar Vendôme, salon de thé donnant sur les jardins ; le Bar Hemingway, tout en boiserie et en whiskies ; le Ritz Bar, plus glamour et intimiste ; et enfin le Bar de la Piscine, entre deux plongeons.

S'il est possible de déjeuner dans certains des salons ou de bénéficier du service d'étage 24h sur 24, l'Espadon est le restaurant gastronomique de l'hôtel. Avec son décor classique en trompe l'oeil, sa cuisine est l'héritière du grand chef Escoffier. Une école de cuisine réputée et ouverte aux amateurs, perpétue également l'enseignement du grand homme.

Porté par un service impeccable, auquel s'emploient plus de 500 employés, le Ritz Paris continue à faire vivre une tradition de l'hospitalité qui, si elle peut sembler surannée pour certains, n'en continue pas moins de fournir une référence.

 

Pour qui ?

Fier de ses traditions, le Ritz accueille une clientèle internationale, forcément très chic, qui sait apprécier à sa juste valeur, à la fois le maintient souriant et le respect d'une certaine étiquette, entretenus avec enthousiasme par un personnel lui-même très chic.

 

À partir de 610€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 10 Confort Global : 10

Contacts & Réservation

Hôtel Ritz Paris

15, place Vendôme
75001

Station de Métro : Opéra