Solar Do Castelo

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Right Under the Sun

The Solar do Castelo, a rare place indeed, offers a varied and amazing journey.

A beautiful, colonial-style residence, and one whose medieval aspect overlooks the city, the history of the Solar do Castelo is linked to that of Saint George Castle, a former royal residence that became one of Lisbon's earliest tourist attractions.

Once the castle's kitchen, the Solar's original building was destroyed by the 1755 earthquake and then rebuilt, probably in 1765, becoming a family residence whose architecture freely blends aspects of the Pombaline style with Baroque elements.

Though it is located in the heart of the city, the establishment is difficult to reach as it is situated at the back of a dead end shielded by a network of narrow little streets and lined with small houses that date from another, though still lively, era.  However, when you do find it, it is with eyes wide open in amazement, and with no recollection of the effort it took to get there.

Once you step through the thick front door, you arrive in a building filled with history, lights and azulejos, that looks out over a second, clearly modern building that was created during the 2001 renovations.  Connected thanks to the intelligent contemporary design of Vasco Massapina, the two buildings provide a shield for an unevenly-paved patio inundated with sun.  The intense good feeling of the latter radiates throughout the entire establishment.

The Solar do Castelo's 14 rooms are stylish, a little romantic, of a simple kind luxury, and rather compact though perfectly calm.  They include bits and pieces of forged iron and wood in shades of soft beige.

Despite its small size, the hotel has large common spaces that make clients feel as if they've just inherited the home of a rather fortunate friend, if only just for a little while.

Light, attentive service, and always a glass of Porto on the house to give clients a feeling of the warmth of Portuguese hospitality.

 

The clientele

Given the calm, intimacy and charm of the place, it is perhaps to couples that the Solar do Castelo speaks the most.  But it will also delight any who wish to discover the historic streets of Lisbon, and to forget modern Lisbon among the peace and quiet of the lieu.  With an international clientele, both chic and informal, the establishment is a fabulous retreat in the heart of the city.

 

Starting at 226€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 7 Rating : 7
Room amenities 8 Rating : 8
Breakfast 8 Rating : 8
Property amenities 8 Rating : 8
Global Rating 8 Global Rating : 8

Contacts & booking

Solar Do Castelo

Rua das Cozinhas, 2
(ao castelo)
1100-181

Solar Do Castelo

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Sous le soleil exactement

Voyage multiple et étonnant, le Solar do Castelo est un lieu rare.

Belle demeure aux allures coloniales, son histoire est liée au Château Saint George, l'ancien château royal, mitoyen, devenu un des hauts lieux touristiques de Lisbonne et dont l'allure médiévale surplombe la ville.

Autrefois cuisine du château, le bâtiment d'origine du Solar a été détruit par le tremblement de terre de 1755 pour être reconstruit, sans doute en 1765, afin de devenir une maison de famille dont l'architecture mêle librement éléments pombalins et baroques.

Au coeur de la ville mais difficile d'accès, l'établissement se niche au fond d'une impasse protégée par un réseau d'étroites ruelles, bordées de petites maisons datant d'une autre époque mais toujours vivantes. On le rejoint les yeux ouverts, comme émerveillé, en oubliant d'où l'on vient.

Une fois passé l'épaisse porte, on arrive dans un bâtiment pétri d'histoire, de lumières et d'azulejos, ouvert sur un deuxième bâtiment, à l'allure clairement moderne, créé en 2001, lors de la rénovation de l'immeuble. Liés grâce à l'intelligente architecture contemporaine de Vasco Massapina, ces deux bâtiment protègent un patio au pavé inégal, inondé de soleil et dont le bien-être intense rayonne à travers tout l'établissement.

Les 14 chambres du Solar do Castelo sont coquettes, un brin romantique, d'un luxe simple, plutôt compactes et parfaitement calmes. Elles mêlent éléments en fer forgé et éléments en bois, sur des tons beiges, très doux.

Malgré sa petite taille, l'hôtel dispose de larges parties communes qui laissent à l'intimité des hôtes suffisamment d'espace pour leur donner l'impression de profiter de la demeure d'un ami privilégié.

Service léger, plein d'attention et de sourire, soucieux d'offrir à tous ses hôtes un verre de Porto pour leur permettre de découvrir la chaleur de l'hospitalité portuguaise.

 

Pour qui ?

Compte tenu du calme, de l'intimité et du charme des lieux, c'est peut-être avant tout aux couples que le Solar do Castelo s'adresse. Mais il ravira également tous ceux qui ont envie de découvrir une Lisbonne des ruelles historiques, en oubliant en toute tranquilité la Lisbonne moderne. Avec une clientèle internationale, à la fois chic et informelle, l'établissement est une étonnante retraite au coeur de la ville.

 

À partir de 226€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 7 Confort : 7
Confort Chambres 8 Confort : 8
Petit-Déjeuner 8 Confort : 8
Infrastructure & Services 8 Confort : 8
Confort Global 8 Confort Global : 8

Contacts & Réservation

Solar Do Castelo

Rua das Cozinhas, 2
(ao castelo)
1100-181