The Milestone Hotel & Apartments

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

The Gentleman with the Red Carnation in his Buttonhole

So British ? Perhaps...but so what? There is too much character behind certain airs to simply brush them off!

When one arrives at Milestone, one must wonder whether the dignified residents of Kensington Palace nearby were ever jealous, at least a little bit, to find a hotel near them with a more beautiful façade than their own princely residence.

In this case, there are two facades. Built with solid bricks and cemented with history, its mullioned, bow, stained-glass and gabled windows, along with its facades, were a part of two houses which were joined together in 1929 in order to accommodate Milestones' 45 rooms, 12 suites, and 6 apartments. With views overlooking Kensington Gardens on top of all of this, it goes without saying that this hotel enjoys a high listing.

However, despite this praiseworthy introduction, and despite all of the other amenities in this hotel: its intimate and carefully decorated gourmet restaurant, its small pool with bidirectional current jets, its exercise club and trainer, its jockey bar called "Stables" (perhaps a bit old fashioned, but the champaign is always flowing), and its ritzy black and white winter garden, "The Conservatory," which sits under modern stained-glass windows-despite all of these wonderful things- the essence of the Milestone lies somewhere else.

It's all about the service!

Of course, all hotels brag about their service- it's the key to good hospitality. However, at the Milestone, it's easy to notice that you are dealing with something entirely beyond good service.

Its staff consists of a motivated team of personnel brought to its clients by the energetic Frits Potgieter, who uses his South African drive to strike the delicate balance between casual conviviality and attentivness.

There is also old Terry, former butler for various aristocratic families. Despite his advancing years, he is happy to be able to still give his wise advice and service. Next is the head concierge, James Cameron, who is an expert in the London scene. Finally, there is the young sommelier Nicolas Clerc, who was honored in 2007 as the best sommelier in the country. Of course, one cannot forget the porter, who looks like a living caricature of a figure in London's days past, despite his hat and uniform.

The quality of the service is apparent. When one arrives at Milestone, when one enters the very English sparkling polished lobby-reception-concierge with its wooden panels, its motif-laden carpets, its twinkling chandeliers and its bouquets of lilies, one is a bit surprised by the character of the service. There is not only a team of readily available staff, but they provide service with a smile- eager to help out however they can. In addition, the hotel has a private chauffeur who can take you downtown, or simply wait for you at the airport.

Next are the rooms. The style is a question of taste. However, again, the owners of the hotel thought of everything. A part of the Red Carnation family, the Milestone is decorated according to the principles of Madame Beatrice Tollman: with care, diligence, and a taste for opulence. All of the rooms are different; some are classic, or even medieval, like the Tudor; others have a very post 1980's ritzy look like the Safari, while others, like the Minstiguette, are completely contemporary- with its intense red colors and sensual elegance.

Beyond the numerous pieces of antique furniture, the canopy beds, the rich tightwoven fabrics, the thick curtain, various precious ornaments, gas fireplaces, and everything else needed to provided classic comfort, Red Carnation succeeded in discreetly integrating the latest technology in all of its rooms: free wifi internet, ipod docks, and large screen TV's with DVD.

Every night, the turn-down linen service cleans up your bathroom and removes the pillows from the bed in order to open up your bedspread, revealing soft silky sheets marked with the hotels insignia.

The rooms are quite spacious and well designed, and a few are duplexes. Some rooms have tables with billiard extensions, while others in the corner of the building have an unobstructed view across their mullioned windows of Kensington Gardens.

The bathrooms are classically designed, and are attentively stocked with various amenities, such as excellent Penhaligon products and thick towels.

Little by little, the hotel is also renovating in order to upgrade any of the old fashioned or stiff elements of its traditional design.

A good example is the restaurant, Cheneston. In addition to being a must stop for foodies, some subtle modern hints have been added to its traditional, elegant European fare. Similarly, while Cheneston kept the fireplace, wood paneling, mouldings, chandeliers and medieval alcoves, it has added a fresh touch with a white paint over.

Now, who is that gentleman with the red carnation in his buttonhole ? Almost every male staff member of Milestone sports one, everyday- a dashing red carnation, and they are in all of the bathrooms of the hotel. Sound crazy? Perhaps, but when one loves, one can love until the cows come home, and in this case, Madame Beatrice Tollman loved, first and foremost, her red carnations.

 

The clientele

Even though this hotel is undergoing a modern renovation which is adding beautiful contemporary elements to its design, the Milestone will enthuse, above all, those who are looking for something beyond décor. It provides an incredible array of conveniences for a hotel of its size, but beyond all, a level of service which is certain to live up to ones highest expectations.

One final note : the Milestone is a haven for high standard service, but especially for those who like to avoid too much pretentiousness. Fortunately, there are a few of us left!

 

 

Starting at 311€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 8.5 Rating : 8.5
Room amenities 9 Rating : 9
Breakfast 9 Rating : 9
Property amenities 10 Rating : 10
Global Rating 9 Global Rating : 9

Contacts & booking

The Milestone Hotel & Apartments

1 Kensington Court
W8 5DL

Metro station : High Street Kensington

The Milestone Hotel & Apartments

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Le gentleman avec un oeillet rouge à la boutonnière

So british ? Effectivement... mais encore ? Il y a trop de vie derrière ces façades pour s'arrêter à une image d'épinal !

Quand on arrive au Milestone, on peut se demander si les dignes résidents du Kensington Palace tout proche n'ont jamais été jaloux, au moins une fois, de trouver dans leur voisinage un hôtel avec une plus belle façade que leur demeure princière.

En l'occurrence, il s'agit même de deux façades. Toutes de briques et d'histoire, avec fenêtres à meneaux, bow-windows, vitraux et pignons, ces façades appartiennent à deux maisons regroupées en 1929 pour laisser suffisamment d'espace aux 45 chambres, 12 suites et 6 appartements du Milestone. Le tout étant classé et surplombant Kensington Gardens, cela va de soit. 

Et pourtant, malgré cette introduction, assez élogieuse, et malgré toutes les autres qualités fonctionnelles de l'établissement : son restaurant gastronomique, intime et redécoré avec soin, sa petite piscine, avec jet à contre-courant, son club de remise en forme, avec coach, son jockey-bar, Stables, un peu vieux jeu, certes, mais où le champagne coule toujours à flot, son jardin d'hiver, le Conservatory, très glamour-pop en noir et blanc sous une verrière très moderne, et bien, malgré toutes ces qualités, l'essentiel du Milestone demeure ailleurs.

Le service ? C'est bien ça !

Naturellement, tous les hôtels vantent leur service : c'est la clé de l'hospitalité. Mais concernant le Milestone, on sent très bien qu'il s'agit d'autre chose.

Porté par la personnalité vigoureuse de son personnel, au premier rang desquels le pétillant Frits Potgieter, apportant à l'hôtel une énergie sud-africaine toute en puissance, l'hôtel trouve un juste équilibre entre la familiarité nécessaire pour mettre les étrangers à l'aise et une modestie pleine d'attentions.

On peut également mentionner le vieux Terry, ancien majordome de grandes familles, heureux de pouvoir encore prodiguer ses bons conseils et services malgré son âge vénérable, le chef concierge, James Cameron, connaisseur patenté des bonnes adresses londoniennes, ou encore le jeune sommelier Nicolas Clerc, distingué en 2007 comme le meilleur sommelier du pays. Et bien sûr, sans oublier le portier, presque une caricature vivante du vieux Londres, malgré son chapeau et son habit de scène.

Et le service ça se voit. Quand on arrive au Milestone, quand on entre dans ce lobby-réception-conciergerie, très à l'anglaise, avec ses panneaux de bois, ses moquettes vertes à motifs, ses lustres scintillants et ses bouquets de lys, on est surpris par l'accueil : oui, il y a du personnel et ce personnel s'avance naturellement vers vous avec un large sourire pour savoir en quoi il peut vous être utile. Autant dire que l'on n'est plus habitué ! L'hôtel dispose par ailleurs de son chauffeur privé qui pourra vous accompagner à travers la ville, ou tout simplement venir vous attendre à l'aéroport.

Après, il y a les chambres. Et là, c'est une question de goût. Mais à nouveau, les propriétaires de l'hôtel ont pensé à tout. Faisant partie du groupe familial Red Carnation, le Milestone est décoré selon les canons de Mme Béatrice Tollman : avec soin, avec rigueur et avec une certaine opulence. Toutes les chambres sont différentes, certaines très classiques, voire presque médiévales, comme la Tudor, d'autre très glamour-post années 80, comme la Safari, ou d'autres parfaitement contemporaines, comme la Minstinguette, avec son rouge intense et sa sensualité élégante.

Au-delà des nombreuses pièces d'antiquités, des lits à baldaquins, des riches tissus tendus, des épais rideaux, des nombreux bibelots précieux, des cheminées au gaz et de tout ce qu'il faut pour assurer un confort classique, Red Carnation a réussi à discrètement intégrer les nouvelles technologies dans toutes ses chambres : internet gratuit avec connexion wifi, iPod dock Bose, lecteur de DVD ou large écran de télévision.

Tous les soirs un service de couverture refait votre salle de bains, enlève du lit le monceau de coussins qui s'y trouve, le tout pour mieux ouvrir votre couette dont les draps sont tout simplement soyeux : griffés aux armes de l'hôtel et d'une douceur étonnante.

Les chambres sont assez spacieuses et bien dessinées, certaines sont en duplex, l'une bénéficie d'un billard camouflé sous une table, une autre, à l'angle du bâtiment offre, à travers ses fenêtres à meneaux, une vue imprenable sur Kensington Gardens et profite d'une belle lumière.

Classiques, les salles de bains sont confortables et bénéficient de nombreux détails dont leurs épaisses serviettes et d'excellents produits Penhaligon's. 

Pour parer à un style classique, parfois un peu trop tendre ou vieillissant, surtout dans les parties communes, l'établissement est en train de se refaire peu à peu une beauté.

Parfait exemple, le restaurant Cheneston. En plus d'être une halte gastronomique obligatoire pour sa cuisine - européenne traditionnelle et élégante mais avec un léger peps moderne et beaucoup de gourmandise -, le Cheneston a conservé cheminée, panneaux de bois, moulures, lustres et alcôves médiévales, mais a gagné beaucoup de fraîcheur grâce à un grand coup de blanc. 

Mais au fait, qui est ce gentleman avec un oeillet rouge à la boutonnière ? Et bien, il s'agit d'un peu tout le personnel masculin du Milestone, qui arbore, tous les jours, un fringant oeillet rouge,  comme d'ailleurs toutes les salles de bains de l'hôtel. Petite folie ? Sans doute, mais quand on aime, on ne compte pas, et en l'occurence, il s'agit de la fleur préférée de Mme Béatrice Tollman.

 

Pour qui ?

Même si l'hôtel est en train de se moderniser avec une belle touche de décoration contemporaine, le Milestone ravira avant tout les voyageurs sensibles à autre chose qu'au décor.

Un ensemble de prestations incroyablement complet pour un hôtel de cette taille, mais surtout, une telle qualité-simplicité de service comblera les plus exigeants.

A un détail près : le Milestone est effectivement un rêve d'hospitalité mais surtout pour ceux qui savent ne pas se montrer trop snobs. Heureusement, il en reste !

 

 

À partir de 311€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 8.5 Confort : 8.5
Confort Chambres 9 Confort : 9
Petit-Déjeuner 9 Confort : 9
Infrastructure & Services 10 Confort : 10
Confort Global 9 Confort Global : 9

Contacts & Réservation

The Milestone Hotel & Apartments

1 Kensington Court
W8 5DL

Station de Métro : High Street Kensington