The Rookery

Summary

Guided tour

Location

Services & Prices

A far-from-traditional hotel

A tribute to the art of reinvention, The Rookery, opened in 1998, was the brainchild of two enthusiasts, Peter McKay and Douglas Blain, who had previously created Hazlitt’s in the heart of Soho. Here, near-derelict 18th houses have also been turned into an unexpectedly delightful hotel which is friendly and welcoming.

Each room, furnished with genuine antiques and objets d’art carefully and sometimes quirkily chosen is unique and bears the name of a local character.  Background décor is understated with the accent firmly on the decorative items and, with no two rooms alike in style or size, the whole effect is memorably unusual.

With flat screen TVs in every room, mini bars cleverly concealed in antique cupboards and WiFi throughout the building, modern technology successfully bridges the gap between the old and the new.

There are two particular idiosyncrasies to note: the unusual bathrooms and the Rook’s Nest, a split level suite on the top floor which has the most unusual bedroom in the whole of London. Service is professional, lively, friendly and quick.

The clientele

The Rookery is perfect for that Valentine surprise for your favourite rockstar or for immersing yourself in the works of Robert Louis Stevenson or Charles Dickens and forgetting the City for a while. Otherwise it is an ideal place from which to explore north and east London from a base that offers the best of the old and the new worlds.

 

Starting at 193€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 7 Rating : 7
Room amenities 8 Rating : 8
Breakfast 7 Rating : 7
Property amenities 7 Rating : 7
Global Rating 7 Global Rating : 7

Contacts & booking

The Rookery

Cowcross Street
EC1M 6DS

Metro station : Farringdon

The Rookery

En résumé

Visite guidée

Emplacement

Prestations

Vous avez dit classique ?

Hommage à une histoire joyeusement revisité, le Rookery, ouvert en 1998, est l’œuvre de deux passionnés. En restaurant une ruine du XVIIIème siècle, Peter & Handy, déjà à l’origine du Hazlitt’s au cœur de Soho, ont su créer un endroit complètement original et inattendu, à l’atmosphère à la fois conviviale et chaleureuse.

Portant le nom d’un personnage historique local, toutes les chambres sont uniques. Elles combinent antiquités et œuvres d’art avec un goût sûr et parfois audacieux. A chaque fois différents, les agencements ainsi que les volumes concourent à créer une atmosphère particulière. Mettant en valeur l’originalité des pièces collectionnées, le reste de la décoration est plutôt sobre. L’ensemble porte une patine joyeuse aux accents parfois rustiques.

Avec des écrans plats dans toutes les chambres, des minis bars dissimulés dans d’antiques armoires et le wifi dans tout l’immeuble, les dernières technologies ont réussi à faire partie de ce voyage à travers un temps imaginaire.

A noter deux originalités de l’établissement : des salles de bains « hors normes », et le Rook’s Nest, suite en duplex au dernier étage, qui est sans doute une des chambres les plus étonnantes de Londres. Attaché à l’hôtel, le service est à la fois professionnel et informel, direct et vivant.

Pour qui ?

Le Rookery est idéal pour faire une surprise de Saint Valentin à votre rock-star préférée, pour relire tout Stevenson ou Dickens en oubliant la City, et plus généralement pour profiter de l’est et du nord de Londres avec un hôtel offrant une passerelle à travers les âges.

À partir de 193€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 7 Confort : 7
Confort Chambres 8 Confort : 8
Petit-Déjeuner 7 Confort : 7
Infrastructure & Services 7 Confort : 7
Confort Global 7 Confort Global : 7

Contacts & Réservation

The Rookery

Cowcross Street
EC1M 6DS

Station de Métro : Farringdon