The Stafford by Kempinski

Summary

Guided tour

Location

Services & Prices

Friendliness, discretion and tradition: the club spirit

If being British means knowing how to find that subtle balance between the natural and the sophisticated, this definition fits the Stafford perfectly. Part of the history of St. James’ since the 17th Century, it was first the town house of a great aristocratic family and then a gentlemen’s club, before becoming a hotel in 1912.

During the Second World War, the hotel was home to American and Canadian officers, and the cellars still house souvenirs of the time. In the post-war period, the hotel changed hands, and in 1995 it was bought by Daniel Thwaites, a family company, and closed for six months for refurbishment. It has been under new management since 2005 and the original spirit of the place has been carefully preserved. 

Tucked away in a cul-de-sac and made up of three buildings – the historic house, the former stables and the new suites – the hotel is shielded from the city bustle and has the advantage of a little passageway that takes guests directly and discreetly into Green Park.

A natural meeting place and a haven of old-world calm, the Stafford’s lounges with their fireplaces, the American Bar, and the hotel dining room are friendly places where you quickly feel at home. And then there’s the charming, flower-filled rear courtyard, where you can enjoy a drink when the weather’s fine, and the 350-year-old cellar that’s part of the history of London and home to 20,000 bottles.

With 80 rooms and suites, each with its own decorative scheme that’s evolved with the successive renovations, the hotel can offer a modern or traditional ambiance, or a more masculine or feminine feel. Always cosy and particularly well cared for, they are a showcase for that classic English style of comfort that combines fabrics, cushions and carpets chosen with affection. Luxury without the formality, and straightforward human kindness, make the Stafford a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.

 

The clientele

While the clientele is mostly British or American, over 50 and business-oriented, the Stafford also attracts women travelling alone and cool young couples. Generally speaking, the hotel is ideal for anyone wanting a city-centre location without having to put up with the drawbacks. It is also perfect for people who like a hotel’s public rooms and bar to be traditional but still natural and lively. Finally, the charming, carefully-decorated bedrooms should be varied enough to please all tastes.

 

Starting at 285€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 8 Rating : 8
Room amenities 8.5 Rating : 8.5
Breakfast 9 Rating : 9
Property amenities 8.5 Rating : 8.5
Global Rating 8.5 Global Rating : 8.5

Contacts & booking

The Stafford by Kempinski

St James's Place
SW1A 1NJ

Metro station : Green Park

The Stafford by Kempinski

En résumé

Visite guidée

Emplacement

Prestations

Convivialité, discrétion et traditions : l'esprit club

Si être anglais signifie savoir trouver un subtil équilibre entre nature et culture, alors le Stafford s’inscrit parfaitement dans cette définition. Ancré depuis le XVIIè siècle dans l’histoire de Saint James, il fut tour à tour pied à terre d’une grande famille noble, club pour gentlemen et enfin hôtel, en 1912.

Résidence pour officiers Américains et Canadiens durant la seconde guerre mondial, les caves de l’hôtel en ont conservé des souvenirs. Changeant de mains dans l’après guerre, l’hôtel est la propriété du groupe familial Daniel Thwaites depuis 1995. Fermé alors six mois pour rénovations, il est depuis 2005 placé sous une nouvelle direction qui a su conserver l’esprit original des lieux.

Niché au creux d’une impasse et constitué de trois ensembles, le cœur historique, les anciennes écuries et les nouvelles suites, l’hôtel est protégé de la ville et bénéficie d’un petit passage qui permet à ses hôtes de rejoindre directement Green Park en toute discrétion.

Lieu naturel de rencontre et havre de paix au charme un peu suranné, les salons du Stafford et leurs cheminées, l’American Bar et le restaurant de l’hôtel constituent des espaces de convivialité où se prennent vite des habitudes. A cela s’ajoute une charmante arrière cour fleurie, où il est possible de prendre un verre aux beaux jours, et une cave vieille de 350 ans, liée à l’histoire de Londres et regroupant plus de 20 000 bouteilles.

Avec 80 chambres et suites aux décorations très différentes ayant évoluées au fil des rénovations, l’hôtel propose des ambiances plus modernes ou plus traditionnelles, plus masculines ou plus féminines. Toujours douces et particulièrement soignées, elles cultivent ce confort anglais fait de tissus, de coussins et de moquettes chaleureusement choisies. Avec un luxe sans trop de formalisme et avec une gentillesse directe et sans complexe, The Stafford offre une étape conviviale et sans recherche d’effets.

Pour qui ?

Si la clientèle est majoritairement anglo-saxone, cinquantenaire et orienté affaires, le Stafford séduit tout aussi bien les femmes voyageant seules que de jeunes couples branchés. De façon générale, l'hôtel est idéal pour tous ceux qui cherchent un emplacement au coeur de la ville sans vouloir en supporter les nuisances. Il est également idéal pour tous ceux à la recherche de salons et bar à la fois classiques mais d'un naturel qui les rend vivants. Enfin, ses chambres à la décoration charmante et soignée devraient satisfaire tous les goûts grâce à leur variété.

 

À partir de 285€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 8 Confort : 8
Confort Chambres 8.5 Confort : 8.5
Petit-Déjeuner 9 Confort : 9
Infrastructure & Services 8.5 Confort : 8.5
Confort Global 8.5 Confort Global : 8.5

Contacts & Réservation

The Stafford by Kempinski

St James's Place
SW1A 1NJ

Station de Métro : Green Park