York House

Summary

Location

Services & Prices

Convent in Bloom

When you come to the busy Rua das Janelas Verdes, the only thing to be seen is a wire mesh door with an intercom.

But once you climb up the stone staircase and enter the inner courtyard of this former convent, you'll find a calm and verdant surprise.

An old palm tree with a sturdy trunk, plants everywhere, little wooden tables, a restaurant overlooking the courtyard and the high, ivy-covered walls help to create a world apart, as if cut off from the rest of Lisbon.  And that's only the beginning!

Formerly a convent dating from the middle of the XVIIIth century, the establishment was partly transformed into a boarding house in 1880 by two English ladies that gave it the name of York House.  Improving little by little with each new owner, the boarding house saw real development in the 1940s - that was when each room acquired heat and running water!

Depending on the opportunities and the lodgings left vacant, York House began to extend to the entire convent and beyond, and was modernized to become the establishment it is now:  a charming hotel, simple and well-made, completely renovated in 2004, with 32 completely different rooms, 24 of which are of contemporary design, while the other 8 are examples of rustic classicism.

The history is palpable at every instant.  There are long vaulted corridors with square floor-tiles discoloured by time in place, antiques here and there, always with an almost austere kind of nakedness that is the source of an incredible personality.

Added to the restaurant laid out beneath the historic archways and extending out onto the patio is a bar with heavy wooden panels and a reading room with impeccable varnished parquet flooring.

Located between the heart of the city and historic and touristy Belem district, York House has an advantageous neighbor in the National Museum of Art, the French Embassy and a peaceful, diverse neighborhood during the day that pulses with the rhythm of its nightclubs at nightfall. 

 

The clientele

Having once welcomed a number of artistic personalities, York House attracts a clientele in search of a different atmosphere, for whom luxury is, above all, synonymous with personality and authenticity rather than with rich effects and overly formal service.

 

Starting at 130€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Global Rating 6.5 Global Rating : 6.5

Contacts & booking

York House

Rua das Janelas Verdes, 32
1200-691 Lisbonne

York House

En résumé

Emplacement

Prestations

Fleur de couvent

Quand on arrive le long de la passante Rua das Janelas Verdes, on ne voit rien. Seulement une porte grillagée avec un interphone.

Mais dès que l'on grimpe le long de l'escalier de pierres et que l'on rejoint la cour intérieure de cet ancien couvent, c'est une surprise de calme et de verdure.

Un vieux palmier au tronc vigoureux, des plantes de toute part, des petites tables en bois, le restaurant ouvert sur la cour et les hauts murs en partie couvert de lierre, participent à créer un monde à part, comme coupé du reste de Lisbonne. Et ce n'est que le début !

Ancien couvent datant du milieu du XVIIIème siècle, l'établissement fut en partie transformé en pension, en 1880, par deux dames anglaises qui lui donnèrent le nom de York House. S'améliorant peu à peu au fil des acquéreurs, la pension connaît un réel développement dans les années 40 : les chambres gagnant alors chauffage et eau courante !

En fonction des opportunités et des logements laissés vacant, York House s'étend à tout le couvent, et même plus, et se modernise pour devenir l'établissement actuel : un hôtel de charme, simple et bien fait, complètement rénové en 2004, avec 32 chambres toutes différentes, dont 24 au design contemporain et 8 d'un classicisme rustique.

L'histoire y est palpable à chaque instant : des longs couloirs voûtés aux tomettes carrées parfois blanchies par le temps, des antiquités égrenées ça et là, avec toujours une forme de nudité presque austère, dégageant une incroyable personnalité.

Au restaurant s'étendant sous des voûtes historiques et dans le patio, s'ajoutent un bar aux lourds panneaux de bois et une salle de lecture à l'impeccable parquet vernis.

Situé entre le coeur de la ville et le quartier historico-touristique de Belem, York House profite du voisinage du Musée des Arts Nationaux, de l'Ambassade de France et d'un quartier paisible et populaire durant la journée qui vit au rythme de ses night-clubs la nuit venue. 

 

Pour qui ?

Ayant reçu de nombreuses personnalités artistiques, le York House attire une clientèle en quête d'une atmosphère différente, pour laquelle le luxe est avant tout synonyme de caractère et d'authenticité plutôt que de riches effets et de services trop formalisés.

 

À partir de 130€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Confort Global 6.5 Confort Global : 6.5

Contacts & Réservation

York House

Rua das Janelas Verdes, 32
1200-691 Lisbonne